Best laser light combo: five picks by fit and controls
Our recommendation: begin with the Streamlight TLR-2 HL G for a green laser and light in a larger package. Streamlight rates it at 1,000 lumens, 20,000 candela and 283 m, the highest intensity published by any pick here and four times the 5,000 candela of our compact red alternative, the TLR-8A Flex. The price of that reach is size: 3.39 in and 4.88 oz with batteries, against 2.58 in and 2.64 oz for the TLR-8A Flex, which Streamlight also rates at 60 hours laser-only versus 17. Choose the TLR-8A Flex when a compact pistol and holster matter more than throw.
Compare the Olight Baldr S when charging convenience matters: it has a built-in battery and magnetic charging cable, but Olight's manual steps its 800-lumen high down to 37.5% after one minute. The CMR-207 is our pick for the red Rail Master combination, with a 400-lumen light and a 633 nm Class 3R laser on one CR123 cell. Compare the Viridian C5L when the subcompact listing is the priority; OpticsPlanet lists it at 1.66 oz, but we found no published light output for it. If you want a separate aiming laser, use our best laser sight guide; for light-focused alternatives, compare our best pistol light picks.
The pick labels are our editorial recommendations. Shopper ratings belong to OpticsPlanet and are listing-wide. Check price and availability on OpticsPlanet.
How we reviewed: we compared the OpticsPlanet specifications and review records with opened manufacturer pages and manuals. Individual reviewer comments are attributed to their listing, and model or revision differences are kept separate. See our methodology.
Laser light combos compared
| Our pick | Product and priced row | Light output | Peak intensity and beam | Laser | Light and laser runtime | Power | Length and weight | Price reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best green combo | Streamlight TLR-2 HL G Carded manufacturer part number: 69265 | 1,000 lm | 20,000 cd; 283 m | Green, 510 to 530 nm | 1.25 h | Two CR123A | 3.39 in; 4.88 oz with batteries | around $410 |
| Subcompact listing option | Viridian C5L Carded manufacturer part number: 940-0001; green laser; the OpticsPlanet row names GLOCK 17/19/22/23 | Not published | Not published | Green, 5 mW (legacy manual) | About 60 min (legacy manual) | One CR2 | 1.66 oz (OpticsPlanet; battery not stated); length not published | around $300 |
| Magnetic charging option | Olight Baldr S OpticsPlanet part number (also its UPC): 6972378123169; black; green laser | 800 lm high; 100 lm low | 4,400 cd; 130 m (high) | Green, 510 to 530 nm, Class 3R | High: 1 min at 800 lm, then 32 min at 37.5%; low: 90 min | Built-in rechargeable, magnetic cable | 63 mm; 3.35 oz with battery | around $130 |
| Red Rail Master combo | Crimson Trace CMR-207 Rail Master Pro Carded manufacturer part number: 01-7730-1; red laser; black | 400 lm | Not published | Red, 633 nm, Class 3R | Not published | One CR123 | Not published | around $180 |
| Compact red combo | Streamlight TLR-8A Flex Carded manufacturer part number: 69414; red laser; high and low switches | 500 lm | 5,000 cd; 140 m | Red, 640 to 660 nm | 1.5 h | One CR123A | 2.58 in; 2.64 oz with battery | around $250 |
Figures are the maker's unless the cell names OpticsPlanet. The C5L figures come from Viridian's legacy C-series manual, which we could not tie to the 940-0001 row's exact revision. "Not published" means we found no source we could tie to the carded part number.
Best green combo: Streamlight TLR-2 HL G
Carded manufacturer part number: 69265
around $410exact price on OpticsPlanet
Streamlight rates the TLR-2 HL G at 1,000 lumens, 20,000 candela and 283 m beam distance. That candela figure is four times the TLR-8A Flex's 5,000 and the highest published by any pick here. Our recommendation is to start here when a larger rail-mounted green combo suits your setup. Streamlight rates the light-and-laser mode at 1.25 hours and laser-only operation at 17 hours.
Pros
- Streamlight documents momentary and constant activation on the TLR-2 HL G.
- The OpticsPlanet listing includes two CR123A lithium batteries.
Cons
- Streamlight lists the TLR-2 HL G at 3.39 in long and 4.88 oz with batteries, 0.81 in longer and 2.24 oz heavier than the TLR-8A Flex. We would settle fit and holster clearance before choosing the larger package.
Key specifications
| Light rating | Streamlight: 1,000 lumens; 20,000 candela; 283 m. |
|---|---|
| Laser | Green, 510 to 530 nm (Streamlight) |
| Runtime | 1.25 h light and laser; 17 h laser only (Streamlight) |
| Power | Two CR123A lithium batteries (Streamlight) |
| Size | 3.39 in; 4.88 oz with batteries (Streamlight) |
| Controls | Momentary or constant; programmable strobe (Streamlight) |
| Rail keys | Glock-style, Picatinny, Beretta 90two, S&W 99 and S&W TSW (OpticsPlanet listing) |
| Protection | Streamlight rates the TLR-2 HL G IPX4. |
“Not the smallest, but built rock solid.”
Live Free or Die, an OpticsPlanet reviewer (Verified Owner)
Subcompact listing option: Viridian C5L
Carded manufacturer part number: 940-0001; green laser; the OpticsPlanet row names GLOCK 17/19/22/23
around $300exact price on OpticsPlanet
The OpticsPlanet listing identifies the Viridian C5L as a subcompact green laser and tactical light combination. Our read: compare this when the larger TLR-2 package feels like the wrong direction; OpticsPlanet lists it at 1.66 oz, the lowest weight listed for any pick here, though the listing does not say whether that includes the battery. The OpticsPlanet 940-0001 row names GLOCK 17, 19, 22 and 23; confirm that fit and your holster before relying on the Universal label. Keep this priced C5L row separate from other C5L versions.
Pros
- The OpticsPlanet listing describes ambidextrous activation for the C5L.
- The OpticsPlanet listing describes constant and pulsing laser modes for the C5L.
Cons
- We found no published light output for this row, and Viridian's legacy C-series manual rates light and laser together at about 60 minutes.
Key specifications
| Laser | Green, 5 mW (Viridian legacy C-series manual) |
|---|---|
| Light output | Not published |
| Runtime | Laser only about 4+ h constant or 7+ h pulsing; light and laser about 60 min (Viridian legacy C-series manual) |
| Modes | 6 user modes; about 10-minute auto-off (Viridian legacy C-series manual) |
| Listing battery | The OpticsPlanet C5L specification lists a CR2 battery. |
| Weight | 1.66 oz (OpticsPlanet listing; battery not stated) |
| In the box | CR2 3V lithium battery, 3 rail sets, adjustment tool, 2 mounting screws, manual (OpticsPlanet) |
“It was very easy to sight in and the light is adequate for most situations plus the green laser is very powerful.”
photofisherman, an OpticsPlanet reviewer (Verified Owner); historical comment (August 17, 2024)
Magnetic charging option: Olight Baldr S
OpticsPlanet part number (also its UPC): 6972378123169; black; green laser
around $130exact price on OpticsPlanet
Olight's Baldr S manual lists 800-lumen high and 100-lumen low settings, with 4,400 candela and 130 m on high. We would shortlist this if convenient charging matters more than replacing primary cells: the OpticsPlanet listing describes a built-in 3.7V 380mAh lithium polymer battery charged by a magnetic cable. The quoted reviewer comment describes their mounting experience, not every pistol fit.
Pros
- The OpticsPlanet package list includes a magnetic charging cable for the Baldr S.
- Olight lists the Baldr S at 3.35 oz including its battery.
Cons
- Olight's manual has the 800-lumen high setting step down after one minute to 37.5%, then run 32 minutes with the laser on. Its 4,400 candela is also below the TLR-2 HL G's 20,000 and the TLR-8A Flex's 5,000.
Key specifications
| Modes | Olight: 800-lumen high; 100-lumen low. |
|---|---|
| Intensity | 4,400 cd and 130 m on high; 540 cd and 45 m on low (Olight) |
| Step-down | 800 lm for 1 min, then 37.5% for 39 min laser off or 32 min laser on (Olight manual) |
| Laser | Green, max 5 mW, 510 to 530 nm, Class 3R (Olight) |
| Battery | Built-in 3.7V 380mAh lithium polymer; magnetic charging cable (OpticsPlanet listing) |
| Size and weight | 63 x 32.5 x 36 mm; 95 g (3.35 oz) with battery (Olight) |
| Protection | Olight rates the Baldr S IPX4. |
| Warranty | 2-year repair or replacement, exclusions apply (Olight manual) |
“Fits wherever you want to put it Adjusts on the rail and base adjustment also”
Danny Miller, an OpticsPlanet reviewer (Verified Owner)
Red Rail Master combo: Crimson Trace CMR-207 Rail Master Pro
Carded manufacturer part number: 01-7730-1; red laser; black
around $180exact price on OpticsPlanet
Crimson Trace identifies the CMR-207 01-7730-1 as the red-laser model, rated at 5 mW, 633 nm, Class 3R. Crimson Trace specifies a 400-lumen white light for the CMR-207. We would choose this row for the red Rail Master combination. Judge this priced version from its own specifications rather than the mixed listing's green-laser information.
Pros
- Crimson Trace documents laser-only, light-only and combined operation for the CMR-207.
- Crimson Trace lists Picatinny or Weaver-style rail fit for the CMR-207.
Cons
- At 400 lumens it has the lowest published light output of the four picks with a lumen figure, and we found no published candela, runtime or weight for it.
Key specifications
| Light | Crimson Trace: 400-lumen white light for CMR-207. |
|---|---|
| Laser | Red, 5 mW, 633 nm, Class 3R (Crimson Trace) |
| Power | Crimson Trace specifies a single CR123 lithium battery for CMR-207. |
| Modes | Laser, light, or laser and light; 5-minute automatic power-down (Crimson Trace) |
| Fit | M1913 Picatinny or Weaver-style rails (Crimson Trace) |
| Housing | Aluminum (Crimson Trace) |
| Runtime | Not published |
Compact red combo: Streamlight TLR-8A Flex
Carded manufacturer part number: 69414; red laser; high and low switches
around $250exact price on OpticsPlanet
Streamlight identifies 69414 as the TLR-8A Flex with a red laser. Our recommendation is to compare this with the larger TLR-2 when compactness and paddle choice come first: Streamlight lists it at 2.58 in and 2.64 oz with its battery, and rates its laser-only runtime at 60 hours. Confirm your exact rail and holster pairing. Another TLR-8 version's battery specification is not a substitute for the A model's document.
Pros
- Streamlight rates the TLR-8A at 500 lumens.
- Streamlight specifies one CR123A lithium battery for this TLR-8A.
Cons
- Streamlight rates it at 5,000 candela and 140 m, a quarter of the TLR-2 HL G's 20,000 candela, so it gives up reach for size.
Key specifications
| Output | 500 lumens; 5,000 candela; 140 m (Streamlight) |
|---|---|
| Laser | Red, 640 to 660 nm (Streamlight) |
| Runtime | 1.5 h light only or light and laser; 60 h laser only (Streamlight) |
| Power | One CR123A lithium (Streamlight) |
| Size | Streamlight lists the TLR-8A at 2.58 in long and 2.64 oz with its battery. |
| Protection | IPX4 (Streamlight) |
| Box | Streamlight lists both high and low switch options in the 69414 package. |
How to choose a laser light combo
Start with the size your pistol and holster can carry, then compare intensity and power. The published figures split these five picks into three groups: the larger TLR-2 HL G (1,000 lumens, 20,000 candela, two CR123A cells), the single-cell units (TLR-8A Flex at 500 lumens and 5,000 candela on one CR123A, CMR-207 at 400 lumens on one CR123), and the rechargeable Baldr S (800 lumens, 4,400 candela). The C5L sits apart: the lowest listed weight (an OpticsPlanet figure with no battery condition stated) and no published light output.
Candela tells you more than lumens about reach
The Baldr S has more lumens than the TLR-8A Flex (800 against 500) but slightly less candela (4,400 against 5,000), and Olight's 130 m high-mode beam is shorter than Streamlight's 140 m for the TLR-8A. The TLR-2 HL G's 20,000 candela gives it a 283 m rating, about twice the TLR-8A's distance. If you need to light something across a yard, compare candela; if you mostly work inside a room, lumens and size matter more.
Read runtime by mode
Streamlight's TLR-2 HL G fact sheet rates the combination mode's LED at 1.5 hours to 10% output and its laser at 1.25 hours, and its laser-only operation at 17 hours. Streamlight rates the TLR-8A Flex at 1.5 hours with the light on, whether or not the laser is on, and 60 hours laser only. These are published endpoints rather than our measurement of constant maximum brightness, so compare laser-only figures with each other and light-and-laser figures with each other.
Rechargeable or CR123A
The Baldr S is the only pick here with a built-in battery: the OpticsPlanet listing describes a 3.7V 380mAh lithium polymer cell charged by a magnetic cable, and Olight's manual has its high mode step down after one minute. The two Streamlight units and the CMR-207 run on CR123A or CR123 cells, and the C5L on one CR2. One package detail to check on the CMR-207: the OpticsPlanet box list names a rechargeable CR123 battery and a USB charging cord, while Crimson Trace's page specifies a single CR123 lithium battery.
Compare like configurations
The priced CMR-207 is the red 01-7730-1 configuration, which Crimson Trace rates at 633 nm; its green CMR-207G sibling is rated at 532 nm. The priced TLR-8A 69414 is a red-laser configuration at 640 to 660 nm. The TLR-2 HL G and Baldr S lasers are green, at 510 to 530 nm. Check the row you select before comparing laser figures.
What else to consider
If the laser is not part of your buying decision, start with our pistol light guide. Our SureFire X400T review is a separate combo review, while best rifle light covers rifle-light choices.
FAQ
What is the best laser light combo?
Our starting recommendation is the Streamlight TLR-2 HL G, rated by Streamlight at 1,000 lumens and 20,000 candela with a green laser. Compare the TLR-8A Flex for the compact red option (2.58 in, 2.64 oz), the Baldr S for magnetic-cable charging, the CMR-207 for the red Rail Master configuration, and the C5L for the subcompact listing.
Is the TLR-8A in this guide red or green?
Streamlight identifies the carded 69414 TLR-8A Flex as the red-laser configuration, with a 640 to 660 nm laser.
Does the carded CMR-207 have a green laser?
The carded CMR-207 01-7730-1 is the red model.
Is the Baldr S headline output sustained?
No. Olight's manual describes 800 lumens for one minute, then a step down to 37.5% for 39 minutes with the laser off or 32 minutes with the laser on. The 100-lumen low mode runs 140 minutes with the laser off or 90 minutes with it on.
Which combo has the longest laser-only runtime?
Among published figures, the TLR-8A Flex: Streamlight rates its laser-only runtime at 60 hours, against 17 hours for the TLR-2 HL G. Olight lists a maximum laser runtime of 5 hours for the Baldr S, and Viridian's legacy C-series manual gives the C5L laser about 4+ hours constant or 7+ hours pulsing.