OpticVerdict Independent optics reviews
Search OpticVerdict

The best bow sight

By the OpticVerdict Editorial Team.
Research-based roundup · Updated 2026-10-16

Quick answer: the IQ Bowsights Micro 5-Pin (around $190) is the best bow sight for most hunters: five fixed .019 in fiber optic pins, an all-aluminum build, tool-free locking knobs and IQ's Retina Lock alignment system, per IQ, and Deer Hunting Guide's Best Overall pick. For a single pin, the TruGlo Range Rover (around $95). For a fixed multi-pin hunting sight, the Trophy Ridge React Pro (around $250). For a budget multi-pin sight, the TruGlo Veros 5-Pin (around $95), Field & Stream's Best Budget pick, with a light included. For a hybrid that slides, the Axcel Landslyde (around $570). For a slider built for rough use, the Spot-Hogg Boonie (around $480). To range at full draw, the Garmin Xero A1i Pro (around $1,300).

How we know: this is a research-based roundup, not our own field testing. Specs come from each maker's own page, picks from published editors' guides named in the text, and owner opinions from OpticsPlanet reviews where they exist. Only the Garmin has an owner review on OpticsPlanet so far (one), so there is no owner pattern to report.

These are compound bow sights for hunting and practice: fixed multi-pin sights, a single-pin sight, two sliders with five pins, and one digital sight with a rangefinder built in. The choice comes down to how fast your shots come, pin count and pin size, which hand you shoot, and whether you want a light in the box. Where the retailer listing and the maker disagree, we print the maker's figure and name the other. For a handheld rangefinder to pair with a pin sight, see our best rangefinder for bow hunting guide.

Bow sights compared

SightBest forTypePinsHand on this cardAxis adjustmentLightWeightPrice
IQ Micro 5-Pin (IQ00361)OverallFixed pins5 x .019 inLeft (right-hand row also listed)2nd and 3rdSold separately10.5 ozaround $190
TruGlo Range Rover (TG-6211B)Single pinSingle movable pin1 x .019 inNot published (retailer: right or left)2nd and 3rdNot includedNot publishedaround $95
Trophy Ridge React Pro (AS825R19PR)Fixed pins for huntingFixed pins, Picatinny mount5 x .019 inRightThird axisNot publishedNot publishedaround $250
TruGlo Veros 5-Pin (TG-TG5105C)Budget multi-pinFixed pins5, decreasing diameterRight or left (TruGlo)2nd and 3rd axis adjustable levelLED light includedNot publishedaround $95
Axcel Landslyde (ALND-C519-4TB)Hybrid5 fixed pins on a slider5 x .019 inNot stated on the listing1st, 2nd and 3rdNot publishedNot publishedaround $570
Spot-Hogg Boonie DT (BDT5RH10)Slider for hard use5 pins on a slider, dovetail5 x .010 inRight1st, 2nd and 3rdNot publishedNot publishedaround $480
Garmin Xero A1i Pro (010-01781-51)RangefindingDigital, auto-rangingLED pins, red and greenLeft (right-hand row also listed)Not published (rails adjust elevation, windage, pitch and yaw, per Garmin)LED pins, 2 AAA lithium included18.0 oz with mountaround $1,300

Figures are from each maker's own page (IQ, TruGlo, Trophy Ridge, Axcel, Spot-Hogg, Garmin), except the hand and pin size of the carded row, which come from the retailer listing. The Trophy Ridge figures come from its pages for the standard-mount and Bridgelock React Pro, since its page for the Picatinny version was not found. "Not published" means no source we read gives the value. Prices are bands; confirm the current price and availability on the retailer page before you buy.

Our picks

IQ Bowsights Micro 5-Pin bow sight, left hand, black

Best bow sight overall: IQ Bowsights Micro 5-Pin, Left Hand

Fixed 5-pin · .019 in fiber optic pins · all-aluminum · 10.5 oz (IQ) · card: Left Hand IQ00361

around $190exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

A fixed five-pin sight with IQ's Retina Lock alignment system, and Deer Hunting Guide's Best Overall pick in its guide Best Bow Sights Tested And Reviewed (by Ron Parker, updated June 23, 2026). IQ lists five .019 in fiber optic pins with a new pin design it calls 50 percent thinner with improved containment, an all-aluminum build, a weight of 10.5 oz, micro adjust knobs for windage and elevation, tool-free locking knobs, adjustable 2nd and 3rd axis, a built-in sight level and a built-in light adapter. Retina Lock is IQ's patented alignment technology; IQ says the sight works with or without a conventional peep, and Bowhunter's 2021 write-up of this revision (Jon E. Silks, January 11, 2021) describes Retina Lock as a visual indicator of proper sight alignment on every shot. Deer Hunting Guide says these are the sights its writers use on their compound bows every hunting season and calls the IQ Micro the best fixed pin sight it tested; it does not say which hand it held, publishes no test measurements, and is an affiliate site. The OpticsPlanet listing sells a left-hand row (IQ00361, carded here) and a right-hand row (IQ00360) at the same price; the listing address says "rh", but the row it fronts is left hand. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Deer Hunting Guide's Best Overall pick, and the best fixed pin sight it says it tested
  • Five .019 in fiber optic pins with a thinner, better contained pin design, per IQ
  • Tool-free locking knobs, micro adjust windage and elevation, 2nd and 3rd axis adjustment and a built-in level (IQ)
  • IQ's patented Retina Lock Alignment Technology; IQ says the sight works with or without a conventional peep

Cons

  • The sight light is sold separately (IQ Rheostat Sight Light); the retailer lists only the sight in the box
  • Pins cannot be added, removed or replaced: IQ's FAQ says replacement pins are not available, and removing a pin voids the warranty
  • IQ's warranty is a limited 1-year manufacturer's warranty for the original owner
  • No owner reviews on OpticsPlanet yet, and Deer Hunting Guide publishes no group or low-light measurements

Best for: a hunter who wants fixed pins, no dialing, and IQ's Retina Lock alignment system. Left-handed archers: this is the left-hand row.

Key specifications
Pins5 fixed, .019 in fiber optic (IQ). The retailer spec table prints 0.19in; IQ and the retailer feature list say .019
Weight10.5 oz (IQ; IQ does not say what the figure includes)
BuildAll-aluminum (IQ)
Housing2-1/4 in (IQ FAQ, Micro)
AdjustmentMicro adjust windage and elevation knobs, tool-free locking knobs, adjustable 2nd and 3rd axis, built-in sight level (IQ)
LightRheostat Sight Light sold separately; IQ sights accept a sight light with a 1/4-28 thread (IQ)
ToolsIQ says its sights come with 1/16, 3/32, 1/8 and 9/64 Allen wrenches (FAQ, family-wide)
WarrantyLimited 1-year manufacturer's warranty, original owner (IQ)
Model on this cardLeft Hand, IQ00361; the listing also sells the Right Hand row IQ00360 at the same price
TruGlo Range Rover single-pin bow sight, black

Best single-pin bow sight: TruGlo Range Rover Standard, Black

Single movable pin · 1 x .019 in · 1.8 in aperture · CNC-machined (TruGlo) · card: TG-6211B

around $95exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

One pin that you move to the distance. TruGlo's page for this model (TG-TG6211B, the Range Rover Standard, sold on the retailer as the Archer's Choice Range Rover) lists one .019 in pin with extra-long, fully protected wrapped fiber and an all-metal pin in a clean, circular sight picture, a ZERO-IN adjustment dial with over 80 pre-marked yardage tapes included, a toolless yardage lock, an adjustable end-of-travel stop that sets your maximum yardage, ultra-smooth bracket movement for one-hand adjustment, adjustable 2nd and 3rd axis, a 1.8 in aperture and a CNC-machined build. Deer Hunting Guide named the TRUGLO Range Rover its Best Budget sight; it does not say which Range Rover version it looked at, and its own Best Single Pin pick was a different sight, an HHA Optimizer-Lite. TruGlo says the light is not included. The retailer's feature list and battery line for this listing describe a different sight with an LED dot; TruGlo's own page for TG-TG6211B lists a fiber pin and no light, so we follow TruGlo. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Deer Hunting Guide's Best Budget pick, and one of the two lowest-priced sights on this page
  • Over 80 pre-marked yardage tapes included, and a toolless yardage lock (TruGlo)
  • Adjustable end-of-travel stop sets your maximum yardage (TruGlo)
  • Adjustable 2nd and 3rd axis on a CNC-machined sight (TruGlo)

Cons

  • Light not included, per TruGlo
  • Deer Hunting Guide, which named it Best Budget, lists "There are better options" as its con
  • One pin means setting the yardage before the shot; Deer Hunting Guide says single pin sights cannot adjust the distance at full draw and can be a bit too slow in certain situations
  • TruGlo publishes no weight and no hand; the retailer describes it as adjustable for right or left hand archers
  • The retailer listing mixes in an LED-dot sight's features and a battery line; this row is the fiber-pin Standard model

Best for: an archer who sets the yardage before the shot and wants one clean pin. If shots come fast, a fixed multi-pin sight lets you aim without touching the sight.

Key specifications
Pins1, .019 in diameter (TruGlo)
Aperture1.8 in; housing accepts a 1.87 in scope lens, sold separately (TruGlo)
AdjustmentAdjustable 2nd and 3rd axis; ZERO-IN dial; toolless yardage lock; adjustable end-of-travel stop; laser engraved windage and elevation marks (TruGlo)
Yardage tapesOver 80 pre-marked tapes, included (TruGlo)
BuildCNC-machined, black finish (TruGlo)
LightNot included (TruGlo)
WeightNot published
Model on this cardStandard Adjustment, Black, TG-6211B
Trophy Ridge React Pro 5-pin bow sight, black

Best fixed multi-pin sight for hunting: Trophy Ridge React Pro 5-Pin, Picatinny Mount, Right Hand

Fixed 5-pin · .019 in · React Technology · Picatinny mount · right hand · card: AS825R19PR

around $250exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

A five-pin hunting sight built around Trophy Ridge's React Technology, which Trophy Ridge says automatically adjusts all 5 pins to the optimal location. Deer Hunting Guide named the Trophy Ridge React Pro its Best For Hunting pick; it does not say which mount, hand or pin size it held. This card is the Picatinny Mount, right-hand, .019 in row (AS825R19PR), the only row on the OpticsPlanet listing. Trophy Ridge's page for this exact version was not found when we checked, so the line features here come from its pages for the standard-mount React Pro and the Bridgelock version: tool-less micro-click windage and elevation adjustments, third axis adjustment, durable stainless steel hardware and solid aluminum construction, and ultra-bright fiber optic yardage indicators. Trophy Ridge publishes no weight. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Deer Hunting Guide's Best For Hunting pick
  • React Technology: Trophy Ridge says it automatically adjusts all 5 pins to the optimal location
  • Tool-less micro-click windage and elevation and third axis adjustment (Trophy Ridge, React Pro line)
  • Stainless steel hardware and solid aluminum construction (Trophy Ridge, React Pro line)

Cons

  • Right hand only on this listing; Trophy Ridge's standard React Pro also comes in a left-hand .019 version, which this listing does not carry
  • Picatinny mount: check that your bow takes a Picatinny-mount sight before ordering this row
  • No weight published, and no Trophy Ridge page for this exact version, so its specs come from sibling versions
  • No owner reviews on OpticsPlanet yet

Best for: a right-handed hunter with a Picatinny-ready bow who wants five fixed pins. Left-handed archers should look at the IQ Micro (left-hand row) or the Veros.

Key specifications
Pins5 fixed, .019 in (retailer row name and features)
MountPicatinny (retailer row name); Trophy Ridge also makes standard-mount and Bridgelock versions
AdjustmentTool-less micro-click windage and elevation; third axis adjustment (Trophy Ridge, React Pro line)
BuildStainless steel hardware, solid aluminum construction (Trophy Ridge, React Pro line)
WeightNot published
Model on this cardPicatinny Mount, Right Hand, Black, AS825R19PR (the only row on this listing)
TruGlo Veros 5-pin bow sight in Realtree camo

Best budget multi-pin sight: TruGlo Veros 5-Pin, Realtree Camo

Fixed 5-pin, decreasing diameter pins (DDP) · LED sight light included · right or left hand (TruGlo) · card: TG-TG5105C

around $95exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

Five fixed pins that get smaller for the longer distances, with a light in the box. TruGlo says its Decreasing Diameter Pins (DDP) design uses smaller pins for longer distances, and lists an included TRU-LITE PRO rotary LED sight light, micro-adjustable windage and elevation with strong pre-loaded joints, mid-bracket elevation adjustment, a 2nd and 3rd axis adjustable level and a threaded aperture that accepts a sunshade, sold separately; it says the sight is adjustable for right and left-handed shooters. Field & Stream named the TruGlo Veros 5-Pin its Best Budget sight in The 7 Best Bow Sights of 2024, Tested and Reviewed (by Jace Bauserman, dated January 23, 2026). Bauserman says he tested every sight on the list; his spec box lists three fixed .019 in and two fixed .010 in pins, and his cons are some slop over time and pin adjustment. The write-up's first sentence names TruGlo's Tetra, while its heading, spec box and the rest of the text describe the Veros, and it does not say which color he held. This card is the Realtree Camo row; the listing also sells a Black row. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Field & Stream's Best Budget pick
  • Sight light included (TruGlo TRU-LITE PRO rotary LED)
  • Decreasing diameter pins: smaller pins for the longer distances (TruGlo)
  • 2nd and 3rd axis adjustable level, and set up for right or left-handed shooters (TruGlo)

Cons

  • Field & Stream lists some slop over time and pin adjustment as cons
  • TruGlo publishes no pin diameters, weight or material for this row; Field & Stream lists an aluminum build while the retailer lists carbon composite
  • Sunshade sold separately (TruGlo)
  • No owner reviews on OpticsPlanet yet

Best for: a hunter on a budget who wants five fixed pins and a light without buying one separately.

Key specifications
Pins5 fixed, decreasing diameter (TruGlo, no sizes given); Field & Stream's spec box: three .019 in and two .010 in
LightTRU-LITE PRO rotary LED sight light, included (TruGlo)
AdjustmentMicro-adjustable windage and elevation; mid-bracket elevation adjustment; 2nd and 3rd axis adjustable level (TruGlo)
HandAdjustable for right and left-handed shooters (TruGlo); retailer: Ambidextrous
WeightNot published
Model on this cardRealtree Camo, TG-TG5105C; the listing also sells a Black row (TG-TG5105B)
Axcel Landslyde Carbon Pro Slider 5-pin bow sight

Best hybrid bow sight: Axcel Landslyde Carbon Pro Slider, AccuStat II 5-Pin .019

5 fixed pins in a sliding scope · .019 in · carbon fiber bar · 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis (Axcel) · card: ALND-C519-4TB

around $570exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

Five fixed pins on a sight that also slides to an exact yardage. Outdoor Life included the Axcel Landslyde 5-pin in The Best Bow Sights, Tested and Reviewed (by P.J. Reilly, updated Mar 10, 2025) without a category title, and Reilly calls the five-pin Landslyde the ultimate bowhunting sight: fixed aiming references if a buck moves after you draw, or dial the sight to the exact yardage when you have time. He chose the five-pin version from three-pin and single-pin options and does not say which bar or pin size he held. Axcel's page for the Landslyde Carbon Pro lists the AccuStat II 41mm scope, .010 or .019 in pins (this row is .019 in), 5-pin fiber colors green, red, yellow, red, green, a carbon fiber Carbon Pro mount, a Rapid Adjust Knob with Quick Release, true 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis adjustments, an adjustable dead stop, two individually adjustable pointers, three metal sight tapes included (17 more sold separately) and a quiver mount bracket. For this product code Axcel names the color Carbon Pro Tactical Bowhunting Green, while the retailer lists Black. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Fixed pins for fast shots and a slider for exact yardage, as Outdoor Life describes it
  • True 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis adjustments, an adjustable dead stop and two adjustable pointers (Axcel)
  • Three metal sight tapes included (Axcel)
  • Carbon fiber Carbon Pro mount with a Rapid Adjust Knob and Quick Release (Axcel)

Cons

  • The most expensive non-digital sight on this page; Outdoor Life also lists it as expensive
  • The retailer does not state which hand this row is; Axcel makes right and left-handed models, so confirm the hand on the listing before you order
  • Color: Axcel calls this code Tactical Bowhunting Green, the retailer says Black
  • No weight published by Axcel, and no owner reviews on OpticsPlanet yet

Best for: a hunter who takes both close, fast shots and long, planned ones and wants one sight for both.

Key specifications
ScopeAccuStat II, 41mm (Axcel)
Pins5, .019 in on this row (retailer buy box; Axcel offers .010 or .019); fiber colors green, red, yellow, red, green (Axcel)
MountCarbon Pro mount, carbon fiber (Axcel)
AdjustmentTrue 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis; Rapid Adjust Knob and Quick Release; adjustable dead stop; two individually adjustable pointers (Axcel)
Sight tapes3 metal tapes included, 17 sold separately (Axcel)
ColorCarbon Pro Tactical Bowhunting Green (Axcel); Black (retailer)
WeightNot published
Model on this card.019 in pins, ALND-C519-4TB; the listing also sells a .010 in row (ALND-C510-4TB)
Spot-Hogg Boonie Dovetail bow sight, black

Best slider for hard use: Spot-Hogg Boonie Dovetail, 5-Pin .010, Right Hand

5 horizontal pins on a slider · .010 in · 4 in dovetail bar · right hand · card: BDT5RH10

around $480exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

A slider built for rough use. Outdoor Life named the Spot Hogg Boonie its Most Bulletproof sight in the same guide (P.J. Reilly, updated Mar 10, 2025). Reilly writes that the Boonie is built to take a beating, that it is a slider with many pin and mounting configurations, and that although they sell a ton of Boonies at Lancaster Archery Supply, it is rare to see one returned for a construction or performance deficiency. That is a retailer's view, and the guide does not say which configuration it handled. Spot-Hogg's page for the Boonie DT 5-Pin lists five individually adjustable horizontal pins, a single pointer, a 4 in dovetail bar that Spot-Hogg says fits Bridge Lock bows with no additional parts, 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis adjustments, a quick-detach design, a modular design that converts to other Boonie models by swapping the sight bar, right or left hand, and pin diameters of .010, .019 or .029. This card is the 5-pin, .010 in, right-hand row; the listing also sells a 5-pin .019 row and 2-pin and 3-pin rows, all right hand. OpticsPlanet has no customer reviews on it yet.

Pros

  • Outdoor Life's Most Bulletproof pick
  • 1st, 2nd and 3rd axis adjustments and a quick-detach design (Spot-Hogg)
  • Modular: swap the sight bar to convert to other Boonie models (Spot-Hogg)
  • .010 in pins on this row; Deer Hunting Guide notes a smaller pin covers less of the target

Cons

  • All four models this listing sells are right hand; Spot-Hogg makes left-handed Boonies
  • Outdoor Life lists "Dovetail versions are bulky" and "Expensive" as its cons, and this card is a dovetail version
  • Spot-Hogg publishes no weight or material for it; the 6061 aluminum line comes from the retailer only
  • No owner reviews on OpticsPlanet yet

Best for: a right-handed hunter who wants a slider for long, planned shots and treats gear hard.

Key specifications
Pins5 individually adjustable, horizontal; .010 in on this row; Spot-Hogg offers .010, .019 and .029 (Spot-Hogg)
PointerSingle pointer (Spot-Hogg)
Mount4 in dovetail bar; Bridge Lock compatible per Spot-Hogg; quick-detach (Spot-Hogg)
Adjustment1st, 2nd and 3rd axis (Spot-Hogg)
BuildNot published by Spot-Hogg; the retailer lists solid 6061 aluminum construction
WeightNot published
Model on this card5 Pin, .010, Right Hand, Black, BDT5RH10; the listing also sells 5 Pin .019, 3 Pin .019 and 2 Pin .019 right-hand rows
Black Garmin Xero A1i PRO bow sight with green-ringed sight window and top display

Best rangefinding bow sight: Garmin Xero A1i PRO, Left Hand

OpticsPlanet shoppers rate it 5.0/5 from 1 review.

Auto-ranging digital sight · built-in laser rangefinder · LED pins · 18.0 oz with mount (Garmin) · card: 010-01781-51

around $1,300exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The sight ranges for you. Garmin builds a laser rangefinder into the sight: you press a silent trigger taped to your grip, at rest or at full draw, and it ranges the animal and lights an LED pin for that distance, angle-compensated, so you never lower the bow to use a handheld unit. Garmin lists 100 yards to game and 300 yards to reflective targets, two AAA lithium batteries included, an IPX7 water rating and 18.0 oz for device and mount. Field & Stream named it the Best Rangefinding Sight in its bow sight guide, and Deer Hunting Guide named it its Best Rangefinder Bow Sight. Garmin itself warns that some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit the use of electronic bow sights for hunting. The OpticsPlanet listing sells a left-hand row (010-01781-51, carded) and a right-hand row (010-01781-50) at the same price. Our full review covers setup, batteries and how the Pro differs from the A1i.

Pros

  • Ranges and lights the right pin at full draw, with no handheld rangefinder (Garmin)
  • Field & Stream's Best Rangefinding Sight and Deer Hunting Guide's Best Rangefinder Bow Sight
  • IPX7 water rating; two AAA lithium batteries included (Garmin)
  • Left-hand and right-hand rows at the same price on the listing

Cons

  • By far the most expensive sight here, and 18.0 oz with its mount (Garmin), against 10.5 oz for the IQ Micro (IQ); the other makers here publish no weight
  • Lithium batteries only for ranging: Garmin's manual says alkaline and NiMH batteries may reduce it to standard fixed pin aiming only
  • Some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit electronic bow sights for hunting (Garmin); check your state rules
  • Outdoor Life lists as a con that it "Can be intimidating to bowhunters not comfortable with advanced technology"; Deer Hunting Guide says some of its staff found it difficult to set up, though the guide calls it different rather than difficult

Best for: a hunter whose problem is ranging at full draw, where electronic sights are legal. If you shoot known distances, a fixed-pin sight and a handheld rangefinder are simpler.

Key specifications
TypeAuto-ranging digital bow sight with a built-in laser rangefinder and LED pins (Garmin)
Ranging distance100 yards to game; 300 yards to reflective targets (Garmin)
Pins2 colors (red and green) LED (Garmin)
Battery2 lithium AAA, included; up to 1 year in standby mode or up to 25,000 laser ranges (Garmin)
Water ratingIPX7 (Garmin)
Weight18.0 oz (510.3 g), device and mount (Garmin)
Model on this cardLeft hand, MPN 010-01781-51; Right hand 010-01781-50 at the same price

Single-pin vs multi-pin bow sights

Choose a fixed multi-pin sight if your shots come fast and you want to aim at several distances without touching the sight; choose a single-pin sight if you have time to set the yardage and want one clean pin. A multi-pin sight carries a pin for each distance. Outdoor Life's example, written for the five-pin Landslyde, is pins set at 20, 30, 40, 50 and 60 yards: a buck that comes in to 20 yards and then moves out to 35 after you draw sits in the gap between the 30 and 40 yard pins, and you aim there without touching the sight. Deer Hunting Guide says the main advantage of a single pin is the clear sight picture, that it can be dialed to hit precise distances and does better at long distance, and that the drawbacks are that it cannot adjust the distance at full draw and can be a bit too slow in certain situations. The same guide warns that more pins are not always better, since several pins set for different yardages can get confusing when your heart is beating quickly.

The best bow sight for hunting

Our view: for most hunting, a fixed five-pin sight is the simplest setup, since nothing needs to move once you draw. Deer Hunting Guide named the Trophy Ridge React Pro its Best For Hunting pick and the IQ Micro 5-Pin its Best Overall; that is one guide's view, and it does not publish test measurements. Field & Stream's Best Budget pick, the TruGlo Veros, is the five-pin sight here whose maker says a light is included. If you also take long, planned shots, a hybrid such as the Axcel Landslyde gives you fixed pins and a slider in one sight. Check your state's rules before hunting with an electronic sight such as the Garmin.

How to choose a bow sight

How we chose these

This is a research-based roundup, not a hands-on test. We found each sight on OpticsPlanet and read the full model list on each listing to find the exact row each card links to, including its hand, pin count and pin size. We checked the specs against the maker's own page for IQ, TruGlo, Trophy Ridge, Axcel, Spot-Hogg and Garmin, and where the retailer and the maker disagree we use the maker and say so. Editors' picks come from Deer Hunting Guide, Field & Stream and Outdoor Life; we read each guide ourselves before naming a pick, print the date the publication shows, say when the guide does not name the version it held, and treat picks as editors' choices, not awards. Only the Garmin has an owner review on OpticsPlanet so far. We give no ratings of our own on this page. See our methodology for how we work.

FAQ

What is the best bow sight?

For most hunters, the IQ Bowsights Micro 5-Pin: five fixed .019 inch fiber optic pins, an all-aluminum build, tool-free locking knobs and IQ's Retina Lock alignment system, per IQ. Deer Hunting Guide named it Best Overall in its bow sight guide. For a single pin, the TruGlo Range Rover; for fixed pins built around automatic pin spacing, the Trophy Ridge React Pro; on a budget with a light included, the TruGlo Veros; for fixed pins that also slide, the Axcel Landslyde; for a slider built for rough use, the Spot-Hogg Boonie; and to range at full draw, the Garmin Xero A1i Pro.

Is a single-pin or multi-pin bow sight better for hunting?

For most hunting, a fixed multi-pin sight, because you can aim at several distances without touching the sight. Deer Hunting Guide says single pin sights give a clear sight picture and can be dialed to precise distances, but cannot adjust the distance at full draw and can be a bit too slow in certain situations; it also warns that several pins set for different yardages can get confusing when your heart is beating quickly. A hybrid such as the Axcel Landslyde gives you fixed pins that also slide to an exact yardage.

What pin size should I choose for a bow sight?

Deer Hunting Guide lists .029, .019 and .010 as the basic pin diameters and says a smaller pin covers less of the animal and lets you aim more precisely. Most sights here use .019 inch pins. The Spot-Hogg Boonie on this page is the .010 inch row, and Spot-Hogg also offers .019 and .029. TruGlo's Veros uses decreasing diameter pins, smaller pins for the longer distances.

Do these bow sights come with a sight light?

Of the makers here, only TruGlo says a sight light comes with the sight: the Veros includes a TRU-LITE PRO rotary LED sight light, per TruGlo. IQ sells its Rheostat Sight Light separately, and TruGlo says the Range Rover's light is not included. Trophy Ridge, Axcel and Spot-Hogg do not say on the pages we read whether a light comes with these sights. The Garmin Xero A1i Pro uses LED pins powered by two AAA lithium batteries, which Garmin includes.

Are rangefinding bow sights legal for hunting?

It depends on where you hunt, and we do not give legal advice. Garmin's own warning for the Xero A1i Pro reads: 'Some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit the use of electronic bow sights for hunting. Always know and obey all state hunting regulations before using this device.' Check your state's archery rules before you buy.

Which of these bow sights come in a left-hand version?

On the retailer listings: the IQ Micro 5-Pin card is the left-hand row and the listing also sells a right-hand row; the Garmin Xero A1i Pro listing sells left and right-hand rows; TruGlo says the Veros is adjustable for right and left-handed shooters, and the retailer describes the Range Rover as adjustable for right or left hand. The Trophy Ridge React Pro and Spot-Hogg Boonie rows here are right hand. For the Axcel Landslyde, the retailer does not state the hand of this row, so confirm it on the listing.

Is the IQ Micro on this page the one Deer Hunting Guide picked?

The model matches: Deer Hunting Guide picked the IQ Bowsights Micro 5 Pin and describes five .019 pins, the same pin count and size IQ lists. It does not say which hand it held. This card is the left-hand row, IQ00361; the listing also sells the right-hand IQ00360.

OpticVerdict Editorial Team · optics reviewers at OpticVerdict

Every award, spec and superlative in this guide is checked against a primary source before it is published, and every rating we cite is shown attributed to where it comes from. Read how we evaluate or learn more about this site.

Source-verified claims Attributed ratings only Method disclosed on every page

More bow hunting: Garmin Xero A1i Pro review · best rangefinder for bow hunting · how we evaluate.