OpticVerdict Independent optics reviews
Search OpticVerdict

The best crossbow

By the OpticVerdict Editorial Team.
Research-based roundup · Updated 2026-10-16

Quick answer: the Ravin R10X Pro (around $1,800) is the best crossbow for most hunters. Outdoor Life named it Best Overall and Field & Stream named it Most Accurate in their 2026 crossbow tests, where it averaged 1.6-inch and 0.85-inch groups at 50 yards, and its silent cocking system is built into the stock. For deer hunting with a crank at a lower price, the Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex (around $1,200) cocks and de-cocks with an integrated crank. On a budget, the Barnett Explorer XP405 (around $540) is the lightest and lowest-priced bow here. For a recurve, the Excalibur Rev-X TD takes down without tools, and for speed in the shortest package, the Ravin R470 (470 fps with a 400-grain arrow, per Ravin).

How we know: this is a research-based roundup, not our own shooting. Every figure comes from the maker's own pages or from two independent 2026 tests, Outdoor Life's (Scott Einsmann) and Field & Stream's (Will Brantley), and each test figure is shown with its arrow weight and group count.

A crossbow choice comes down to accuracy, how it cocks, how wide it is when cocked, how much it weighs and what it costs. Speed matters less than the spec sheets suggest, because each maker quotes it with a different arrow. OpticsPlanet had no customer reviews on any of these bows when we built this list, so there is no owner rating on this page: the evidence is the makers' figures and the two magazine tests, which measured different values on the same bows. Where they disagree, we print both.

Crossbows compared

CrossbowBest forSpeed (maker)Outdoor Life measuredField & Stream 2026 measuredWidth (as published)Weight (maker)CockingDraw weight (maker)Price
Ravin R10X ProOverall420 fps (400 gr)417 fps (400 gr); 1.6 in at 50 yd (2026)422.7 fps (400 gr); 0.85 in at 50 yd6.5 in cocked, 10.5 in uncocked, axle to axle (Ravin)7.95 lbIntegrated silent crank, de-cocksNot published (12 lb draw force)around $1,800
Barnett Hyper Raptor T-RexDeer, mid-price crankUp to 440 fps (arrow not stated)423 fps (399 gr); 2.75 in at 50 yd (2026)431.9 fps (400 gr); 3.2 in at 50 yd7.25 in axle to axle, cocked (Barnett)8.2 lb without accessoriesIntegrated planetary crank, de-cocks220 lbaround $1,200
Barnett Explorer XP405Budget405 fps (380 gr); 410 FPS on spec list395.5 fps (400 gr); 2.18 in at 50 yd (earlier test)Not tested13 in axle to axle, cocked (Barnett)6.3 lbRope cocker; crank sold separately190 lb (page) / 200 lb (release)around $540
Excalibur Rev-X TDRecurve, take-down400 fps (arrow not stated)384 fps (350 gr); 2.6 in (2026)389.7 fps (350 gr); 1.1 in at 50 yd21 in tip to tip, cocked (Excalibur)7.5 lb bow onlyChargerX integrated crank, de-cocksNot published (16 lb draw effort)around $1,900
Excalibur Hybrid XRecurve-compound hybrid435 fps (arrow not stated)427 fps (arrow not listed); 1.89 in at 50 yd (earlier test)Not testedNot published by Excalibur; 18.75 in uncocked (Outdoor Life)8.3 lb bow onlyChargerX integrated crank, de-cocksNot published (14 lb draw effort)around $2,000
Ravin R470Speed, compact470 fps (400 gr)475 fps (400 gr); 2.37 in at 50 yd (earlier test)Not testedNot published by Ravin; 8 in axle to axle uncocked (Outdoor Life)8.4 lbVersaDrive integrated, cocks and un-cocksNot published (17 lb draw force)around $2,500

Speed, width, weight, cocking and draw weight are from each maker's own pages unless a publication is named. Outdoor Life's groups are the average of four three-shot groups by two testers at 50 yards; "earlier test" marks a bow from the "More Crossbows from Previous Years" section of its 2026 article. Field & Stream's groups are the average of five three-arrow groups at 50 yards from a seated tripod. Ravin and Excalibur publish cocking effort (draw force, draw effort) instead of limb draw weight. Makers measure weight on different bases, so the weights are not strictly comparable. Prices are bands; confirm the current price and availability on the retailer page before you buy.

Our picks

Ravin R10X Pro crossbow in Black

Best crossbow overall: Ravin R10X Pro Crossbow

Compound, integrated silent cocking system · 420 fps with a 400-grain arrow (Ravin) · 6.5 in axle to axle cocked · card: R018, Black

around $1,800exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The most accurate bow either 2026 test measured on this page, and the one both publications singled out. Outdoor Life named it Best Overall in its 2026 crossbow test, where it averaged 1.6-inch groups at 50 yards (two testers, four three-shot groups) and 417 fps with a 400-grain arrow. Field & Stream named it Most Accurate in its own 2026 test and measured 0.85-inch average 50-yard groups (five three-arrow groups, shot seated off a BOG DeathGrip tripod) and 422.7 fps with a 400-grain arrow. Ravin lists 420 fps with a 400-grain arrow and 156 ft-lbs. The cocking system is built into the stock and is silent, and Outdoor Life found it "easy to cock, load, and decock". At 6.5 inches axle to axle when cocked and 10.5 inches uncocked (Ravin), it has the narrowest maker-published cocked width on this page, which matters in a ground blind or a treestand. Ravin also lists an adjustable comb and length of pull, Trac-Trigger, anti-dry fire with auto safety and a five-year warranty for the original purchaser. The 12 lb figure on the retailer listing is what Ravin calls Draw Force, the effort to crank it, not the limb draw weight, which Ravin does not publish. Outdoor Life adds that if you do not need silent cranking, Ravin's cheaper R10 Pro is the better buy.

Pros

  • Tightest groups measured in both 2026 tests on this page: 1.6 in (Outdoor Life) and 0.85 in (Field & Stream) at 50 yards
  • Integrated silent cocking system; Outdoor Life found it easy to cock, load and de-cock
  • Narrowest maker-published cocked width here: 6.5 in axle to axle cocked, 10.5 in uncocked (Ravin)
  • Adjustable comb and length of pull; five-year warranty for the original purchaser, registered within 30 days (Ravin)

Cons

  • Field-ready weight runs above Ravin's 7.95 lb: 9 lb 13 oz (Field & Stream, which still calls it fairly lightweight) and 8.9 lb (Outdoor Life), both with scope
  • Field & Stream on the kit: "The quiver left much to be desired"; it also calls the safety lever small and hard to reach
  • The cocking handle stores in the stock, a system Field & Stream says seems easy to lose
  • Ravin's warranty excludes strings, cables, cable slides, sleeve bushings and bearings; the retailer listing names only the crossbow in its package contents

Best for: deer hunters who want the tightest-grouping bow on this page in both 2026 tests and the narrowest maker-published cocked width for a blind. If the silent crank does not matter to you, Outdoor Life points to the R10 Pro instead.

Key specifications
TypeCompound (Ravin Helicoil technology, quad limb composite limbs)
Speed (maker)420 fps with a 400-grain arrow; 156 ft-lbs (Ravin)
Outdoor Life 2026 test417 fps (400-grain arrow); 1.6 in average at 50 yards, two testers, four three-shot groups
Field & Stream 2026 test422.7 fps (400-grain arrow); 0.85 in average at 50 yards, five three-arrow groups from a seated tripod
Width6.5 in cocked, 10.5 in uncocked, axle to axle (Ravin)
Length32.5 in (Ravin)
Weight7.95 lb, configuration not stated (Ravin); 9 lb 13 oz with scope and accessories (Field & Stream)
CockingFully integrated silent cocking system with a removable draw handle; 12 lb draw force (Ravin). Limb draw weight not published
SafetyAnti-dry fire / auto safety (Ravin)
Kit (Ravin's list)3 Ravin .003 arrows with field points, removable draw handle, quiver and mounting bracket, 100 yard illuminated scope. The retailer listing names only the crossbow: confirm the package contents on the retailer page
WarrantyFive years from original purchase, original purchaser, register within 30 days; strings, cables, cable slides, sleeve bushings and bearings excluded (Ravin)
Model on this cardR018, Black. The XK7 Camo version (R019) is a separate row at a different price
Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex crossbow

Best mid-price crank crossbow for deer: Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex Crossbow

Compound, integrated planetary gear crank that also de-cocks · up to 440 fps (Barnett) · 220 lb draw weight · card: BAR78248

around $1,200exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The crank-cocking deer bow for less than the Ravins. Outdoor Life named it Best Mid-Price in its 2026 test and measured 423 fps with a 399-grain arrow and a 2.75-inch group average at 50 yards. Field & Stream measured 431.9 fps with a 400-grain arrow, the second fastest bow in its 2026 test, but its groups averaged 3.2 inches at 50 yards, which the tester calls plenty good enough for hunting yet the bottom of that year's field. Barnett lists up to 440 fps (no arrow weight given), 220 lb draw weight, a 16 inch power stroke and an Integrated Planetary Gear system that cocks and de-cocks with a quick-detach crank handle. Outdoor Life liked that the firing mechanism extends to the string on its own and that the crank handle clicks onto the stock with a magnet. It is built around Barnett's micro-diameter HyperFlite arrows. Here the retailer and Barnett agree on the box: three 22 in HyperFlite arrows, a 2-7x36mm illuminated scope, a three-arrow quiver, lube wax and the crank handle.

Pros

  • Integrated planetary gear crank that cocks and de-cocks, crank handle in the box (Barnett and the retailer agree)
  • Fast in both 2026 tests: 423 fps (399-grain, Outdoor Life) and 431.9 fps (400-grain, Field & Stream)
  • Outdoor Life's Best Mid-Price pick in its 2026 test
  • 7.25 in axle to axle when cocked (Barnett)

Cons

  • Least accurate here in both 2026 tests: 2.75 in (Outdoor Life) and 3.2 in (Field & Stream) average at 50 yards
  • Long trigger reach: 3.5 in measured by Outdoor Life; Field & Stream says "the length of pull from the pistol grip to the trigger itself was too long"
  • Heaviest Field & Stream weighed on this page: 10 pounds 6 ounces with scope and accessories
  • Designed around micro-diameter HyperFlite arrows; Barnett's pages give two bow lengths (32 in and 32.5 in)

Best for: deer hunters who want a crank that also de-cocks, a full kit in the box and speed close to the premium bows. If accuracy at 50 yards is your priority, the R10X Pro measured tighter in both tests.

Key specifications
TypeCompound, step-through riser, parabolic limbs (Barnett)
Speed (maker)Up to 440 fps, arrow weight not stated; 163 ft/lbs kinetic energy in Barnett's press release
Outdoor Life 2026 test423 fps (399-grain arrow); 2.75 in average at 50 yards, two testers, four three-shot groups
Field & Stream 2026 test431.9 fps (400-grain arrow); 3.2 in average at 50 yards, five three-arrow groups from a seated tripod
Width7.25 in axle to axle, cocked (Barnett)
Length32 in on Barnett's product page, 32.5 in uncocked in its press release; the retailer lists 32.5 in
Weight8.2 lb without accessories (Barnett); 10 lb 6 oz with scope and accessories (Field & Stream)
Draw weight220 lb; power stroke 16.0 in (Barnett)
CockingIntegrated Planetary Gear cocking and de-cocking system with quick-detach crank handle (Barnett)
TriggerTriggerTech floating trigger, anti-dry fire trigger system (Barnett)
KitThree 22 in HyperFlite arrows, 2-7x36mm illuminated multi-reticle scope with caps and cover, 3-arrow side-mount quiver, lubrication wax, crank handle (Barnett and the retailer listing)
Model on this cardBAR78248 (retailer colour: Black)
Barnett Explorer XP405 crossbow package

Best budget crossbow: Barnett Explorer XP405 Crossbow Package

Compound, rope cocking device included, crank sold separately · 405 fps with a 380-grain arrow (Barnett) · 6.3 lb · card: BAR78186

around $540exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The lowest-priced pick here when we built this list, and the lightest by maker figure. Outdoor Life tested it in an earlier year (it sits in the "More Crossbows from Previous Years" section of its 2026 article, not among the 2026 picks) and measured 395.5 fps with a 400-grain arrow and a 2.18-inch group average at 50 yards, the fourth best in that test. Outdoor Life lists "Great value" and "Fits a wide range of people" as its pros: the stock adjusts through 4.5 inches of length of pull. It cocks with the included rope cocker, which Outdoor Life "found it easy to cock for a non-crank", and Barnett sells a crank for it separately. Barnett's own figures disagree with each other: its product page lists 410 FPS and 190 lb draw weight, its description 405 fps with a 380-grain arrow, and its press release 200 lb. The kit in the box matches on the retailer listing and Barnett's page: two 20 in Headhunter carbon arrows with 100 gr target points, a 4x32mm illuminated red/green scope, a three-arrow quiver, the rope cocking device and string and rail wax.

Pros

  • Lowest-priced pick on this page when we built it, with a full kit including a scope and rope cocker
  • Lightest here: 6.3 lb on Barnett's product page (6.2 lb in its release)
  • 2.18 in average at 50 yards in an earlier Outdoor Life test, its fourth best that year
  • 4.5 in of length of pull adjustment (Outdoor Life); 5-year limited warranty for the original owner, covering the stock, trigger mechanism and limbs (Barnett manual)

Cons

  • Rope cocking by hand; Outdoor Life: "Manual cocking is never easy compared to a crank cocking device". The crank is sold separately
  • Heaviest trigger measured here: 3.33 pounds (Outdoor Life)
  • Longest and widest compound here: 35.5 to 38 in long, 13 in axle to axle when cocked (Barnett)
  • Barnett's figures conflict (410 vs 405 fps, 190 vs 200 lb), and it is not in either 2026 test

Best for: a first crossbow on a budget, or a hunter who shares the bow and needs the adjustable stock. If you want to crank instead of pulling a rope, budget for Barnett's crank or look at the T-Rex.

Key specifications
TypeCompound (Barnett)
Speed (maker)410 FPS on the spec list; 405 fps with a 380-grain arrow in the description (Barnett)
Outdoor Life test (earlier year)395.5 fps (400-grain arrow); 2.18 in average at 50 yards; trigger 3.33 pounds
Field & Stream 2026 testNot tested
Width13 in axle to axle, cocked (Barnett); 13.6 in uncocked as measured by Outdoor Life
Length35.5 to 38 in (Barnett)
Weight6.3 lb on the product page, 6.2 lb in the press release (Barnett)
Draw weight190 lb on the product page, 200 lb in the press release; power stroke 13.6 in (page) or 13.8 in (release) (Barnett)
CockingRope cocking device included; Explorer crank cocking device compatible, sold separately (Barnett)
SafetyAmbidextrous safety, anti-dry fire TriggerTech trigger (Barnett)
KitTwo 20 in Headhunter carbon arrows with 100 gr target points, 4x32mm illuminated red/green multi-reticle scope, sidemount 3-arrow quiver, rope cocking device, string and rail lube wax (retailer listing and Barnett)
Warranty5 year limited warranty for the original owner, covering the stock, trigger mechanism and limbs (Barnett Explorer Series manual)
Model on this cardBAR78186 (retailer colour: Black; Barnett and the retailer description name different camo patterns)
Excalibur Rev-X TD crossbow in Mossy Oak Bottomlands Camo

Best recurve crossbow: Excalibur Rev-X TD Crossbow

Recurve, tool-free take-down · ChargerX integrated crank, cocks and de-cocks · 400 fps (Excalibur) · card: E16341, Mossy Oak Bottomlands Camo

around $1,900exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The simple, serviceable recurve that also breaks down for travel. Outdoor Life named it Best Recurve in its 2026 test, and the bow "shot the same spot before and after the take-down"; Field & Stream took it down and put it back together several times and saw no change in point of impact. In Field & Stream's 2026 test it averaged 1.1-inch groups at 50 yards and had the "truest broadhead flight of anything in the mix". It is the slowest bow here: Excalibur lists 400 FPS (no arrow weight given), Outdoor Life measured 384 fps and Field & Stream 389.7 fps, both with a 350-grain arrow, and Field & Stream found those lighter, slower bolts drifted in the wind. Excalibur's ChargerX crank is built into the stock and cocks and de-cocks; the 16 lb figure is Excalibur's draw effort, not limb draw weight. Excalibur's kit list names the crank, an Overwatch illuminated scope, four 16.5 in Proflight arrows, four 100 gr field points, R.E.D.S. suppressors, a Rebolt quiver and a take-down case, while the retailer's package contents list only the crossbow and a soft case, so confirm the package contents on the retailer page.

Pros

  • Tool-free take-down that held zero in both tests
  • Field & Stream: 1.1 in average at 50 yards and the truest broadhead flight in its 2026 test
  • Recurve limbs: Field & Stream calls Excalibur recurves "virtually bomb-proof and easy to maintain"
  • ChargerX integrated crank cocks and de-cocks; Excalibur lists a lifetime warranty on manufacturing defects

Cons

  • Slowest here: 384 fps (Outdoor Life) and 389.7 fps (Field & Stream), both with a 350-grain arrow
  • Field & Stream: "the shorter, lighter, slower bolts were quite susceptible to wind drift on breezy days"
  • Widest here: 21 in tip to tip when cocked (Excalibur); Field & Stream weighed it at 9 pounds 13 ounces with accessories
  • The retailer package list names only the crossbow and a soft case, shorter than Excalibur's kit list

Best for: hunters who value a bow they can service themselves and travel with. If you need speed or a narrow bow for a blind, a compound such as the R10X Pro fits better.

Key specifications
TypeRecurve, take-down (Quick-Loc tool-free assembly)
Speed (maker)400 FPS, arrow weight not stated (Excalibur)
Outdoor Life 2026 test384 fps (350-grain arrow); 2.6 in group average in its comparison table
Field & Stream 2026 test389.7 fps (350-grain arrow); 1.1 in average at 50 yards, five three-arrow groups from a seated tripod
Width21 in tip to tip, cocked (Excalibur); axle-to-axle not published
Length33 in (Excalibur)
Weight7.5 / 9.6 lb listed by Excalibur; 7.5 lb bow only in its 2026 quick reference guide
CockingChargerX integrated crank, cocks and de-cocks; 16 lb draw effort (Excalibur). Limb draw weight not published
SafetyCeaseFire anti-dry fire (Excalibur); minimum arrow 350 gr in Excalibur's 2026 quick reference guide
Kit (Excalibur's list)ChargerX integrated crank, Overwatch illuminated scope, R.E.D.S. suppressors, Rebolt quiver, four 16.5 in Proflight arrows, four 100 gr field points, Explore take-down case. The retailer lists the crossbow and a soft case: confirm the package contents on the retailer page
WarrantyLifetime warranty on manufacturing defects (Excalibur)
Model on this cardE16341, Mossy Oak Bottomlands Camo. The Grey version (E16357) is a separate row
Excalibur Hybrid X crossbow package

Best recurve-compound hybrid: Excalibur Hybrid X Crossbow Package

Recurve limbs with a cam system · ChargerX integrated crank · 435 fps (Excalibur) · 29.6 in long · card: E16261

around $2,000exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

A recurve-style bow with cams for more speed. Outdoor Life tested it in an earlier year (it appears in the "More Crossbows from Previous Years" section of its 2026 article) and it finished second in that test's accuracy ranking with a 1.89-inch average, with the lightest trigger of that test at 1.65 pounds and 427 fps (arrow weight not listed). Excalibur lists 435 FPS, a 29.6 inch length and 14 lb draw effort through its ChargerX integrated crank, which cocks and de-cocks. Outdoor Life notes you can change the string on it without a bow press using Excalibur's Hybrid X Stringing Aid. Excalibur gives it a non-transferable limited lifetime warranty, with six years on the limbs, cocking device and scope, registered within 60 days. The trade-offs are width and handling: Outdoor Life lists "Wide" as its con, measured 18.75 inches uncocked, says "you have to manually put the safety on" after cocking, and found its rearward balance point tricky in a tripod saddle. Excalibur does not publish a limb draw weight; the retailer lists 350 lb.

Pros

  • Second in accuracy in its Outdoor Life test (1.89 in at 50 yards), with the lightest trigger in that test (1.65 pounds)
  • String can be changed without a bow press using Excalibur's stringing aid (Outdoor Life)
  • 29.6 in long (Excalibur); ChargerX integrated crank cocks and de-cocks
  • Limited lifetime warranty with six years on limbs, cocking device and scope (Excalibur)

Cons

  • Wide: 18.75 in uncocked as measured by Outdoor Life, which lists "Wide" as its con
  • The safety does not set itself when the crank locks onto the string (Outdoor Life)
  • Rear balance point makes it tricky to seat in a tripod saddle (Outdoor Life); 8.3 / 10.3 lb (Excalibur)
  • Not in either 2026 test; Excalibur lists 435 fps and the retailer 440 fps, neither with an arrow weight

Best for: hunters who like recurve limbs but want more speed than the Rev-X TD and a shorter bow. For a narrow bow in a blind, the R10X Pro has the narrowest maker-published cocked width here.

Key specifications
TypeHybrid: recurve limbs with a compound cam system (retailer listing; Outdoor Life)
Speed (maker)435 FPS, arrow weight not stated (Excalibur); the retailer lists up to 440 fps
Outdoor Life test (earlier year)427 fps (arrow weight not listed); 1.89 in average at 50 yards; trigger 1.65 pounds
Field & Stream 2026 testNot tested
WidthNot published by Excalibur; 18.75 in uncocked as measured by Outdoor Life
Length29.6 in (Excalibur)
Weight8.3 / 10.3 lb listed by Excalibur; 8.3 lb bow only in its 2026 quick reference guide
CockingChargerX integrated crank, cocks and de-cocks; 14 lb draw effort (Excalibur). Limb draw weight not published by Excalibur (the retailer lists 350 lb)
SafetyCeaseFire anti-dry fire (Excalibur); minimum arrow 400 gr in Excalibur's 2026 quick reference guide
KitChargerX crank, Overwatch illuminated scope and rings, Rebolt quiver, four 18 in V-Flight Pro bolts with field points (retailer listing). Excalibur's product page lists a 6-pack of these arrows and its guide four: count them on the retailer page
WarrantyNon-transferable limited lifetime; limbs, cocking device and scope six years; register within 60 days; strings, cables, arrows and arrow rest excluded (Excalibur)
Model on this cardE16261 (retailer colour: Black; Excalibur's guide names a Mossy Oak Country DNA finish)
Ravin R470 crossbow in Grey

Fastest and most compact: Ravin R470 Crossbow

Compound, HexCoil cams, VersaDrive integrated cocking · 470 fps with a 400-grain arrow (Ravin) · 26.75 in long · card: R062, Grey

around $2,500exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The fastest and shortest bow here, and the most expensive. Ravin lists 470 fps with a 400-grain arrow and 196 ft-lbs, and Outdoor Life, in an earlier test listed under "More Crossbows from Previous Years" in its 2026 article, measured 475 fps with a 400-grain arrow. At 26.75 inches long (Ravin) and, by Outdoor Life's tape, 12.5 inches cam to cam and 8 inches axle to axle uncocked, it is easy to carry and to swing in a blind. Its 2.37-inch group average at 50 yards was good but, in Outdoor Life's words, not as good as some of the slower bows. The VersaDrive system is built into the stock and can cock and un-cock the bow; Ravin lists 17 lb of draw force. Outdoor Life's cons are the handle and the safety: "The cocking handle is uncomfortable to use and feels cheaply made." Ravin's kit list and the retailer's agree in substance: scope, three arrows with field points, a draw handle or crank, and a quiver with bracket.

Pros

  • Highest speed here: 470 fps with a 400-grain arrow (Ravin), 475 fps measured by Outdoor Life
  • Shortest here at 26.75 in (Ravin); 8 in axle to axle uncocked as measured by Outdoor Life
  • VersaDrive integrated cocking can cock and un-cock the bow (Ravin)
  • Outdoor Life measured a 1.78 lb trigger; five-year warranty for the original purchaser (Ravin)

Cons

  • Most expensive pick on this page
  • 17 lb draw force (Ravin); Outdoor Life found the cocking handle uncomfortable and cheaply made
  • Outdoor Life: "The safety location is next to your ear and difficult to find while the crossbow is shouldered."
  • 2.37 in average at 50 yards in Outdoor Life's earlier test, which it calls good but not as good as some of the slower bows it tested; not in either 2026 test

Best for: hunters in tight ground blinds or thick cover who want maximum speed in the shortest package. If accuracy matters more than speed, the R10X Pro measured tighter.

Key specifications
TypeCompound, HexCoil cam system, quad limb composite limbs, aluminum CNC riser (Ravin)
Speed (maker)470 fps with a 400-grain arrow; 196 ft-lbs (Ravin)
Outdoor Life test (earlier year)475 fps (400-grain arrow); 2.37 in average at 50 yards; trigger 1.78 lbs
Field & Stream 2026 testNot tested
WidthNot published by Ravin; 12.5 in cam to cam, 8 in axle to axle, uncocked as measured by Outdoor Life
Length26.75 in (Ravin); the retailer spec table rounds it to 27 in
Weight8.4 lb, configuration not stated (Ravin)
CockingVersaDrive integrated cocking system, cocks and un-cocks; 17 lb draw force (Ravin). Limb draw weight not published by Ravin (the retailer lists 295 lb)
SafetyAnti-dry fire / auto safety (Ravin)
KitRavin lists 3 .003 R500 Series arrows with field points, a 100 yard illuminated 550 fps scope, removable draw handle and quiver with mounting bracket; the retailer lists scope, 3 arrows and field points, crank, and quiver with bracket
WarrantyFive years from original purchase, original purchaser, register within 30 days (Ravin)
Model on this cardR062, Grey (the only row on the retailer listing)

The best crossbow for deer hunting

For deer, the Ravin R10X Pro is our pick: it shot the tightest groups in both 2026 tests here, it has the narrowest maker-published cocked width on this page, 6.5 inches axle to axle per Ravin, which helps in a ground blind or a treestand, and it cranks silently. Outdoor Life adds that the whole cocking operation would be easy to do in a treestand. At a lower price, the Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex brings an integrated crank that also de-cocks and a complete kit; Field & Stream found broadheads generally hit with field points at 30 yards, though its 50-yard groups were the loosest of the test. For the tightest blinds, the Ravin R470 is the shortest bow here at 26.75 inches. On a budget, the Barnett Explorer XP405 does the job with a rope cocker.

Whatever you choose, sight it in with the arrows and broadheads you will hunt with: Field & Stream measured how far each broadhead landed from the field-point zero at 30 yards, and the gap differed from bow to bow. Crossbow seasons and rules vary by state, so check your state's regulations before you hunt.

How to choose a crossbow

What about TenPoint?

TenPoint and Wicked Ridge bows were not in OpticsPlanet's crossbow catalog when we built this list in October 2026, so they are not carded here. Field & Stream's 2026 Best Overall was the TenPoint TX Ultra 29.5, and its Best Value the Wicked Ridge Commander 400.

How we chose these

This is a research-based roundup, not a hands-on test. We started from OpticsPlanet's crossbow catalog and, for each bow, read the full model list to find the exact row each card links to. We checked speed, width, weight, cocking and warranty against the maker's own pages for Ravin, Barnett and Excalibur, and where the retailer and the maker disagree we use the maker and say so. Test figures come from Outdoor Life's "The Best Crossbows of 2026" (Scott Einsmann, June 29, 2026) and Field & Stream's 2026 crossbow test (Will Brantley, July 20, 2026); we show each figure with its arrow weight and group count, print both publications' numbers where they tested the same bow, and never average them. Their picks are editors' picks, named in text. OpticsPlanet had no customer reviews on these bows, so we give no ratings and no editorial scores. See our methodology for how we work. For another Barnett package in depth, see our Barnett Hyper Raptor 410 review.

FAQ

What is the best crossbow?

For most hunters, the Ravin R10X Pro. Outdoor Life named it Best Overall and Field & Stream named it Most Accurate in their 2026 crossbow tests, where it averaged 1.6-inch and 0.85-inch groups at 50 yards. It has a silent cocking system built into the stock and is 6.5 inches axle to axle when cocked, per Ravin. For a crank-cocking bow at a lower price, the Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex; on a tight budget, the Barnett Explorer XP405; for a recurve, the Excalibur Rev-X TD; for top speed in the shortest package, the Ravin R470.

What is the best crossbow for deer hunting?

The Ravin R10X Pro, if the budget allows: it shot the tightest groups in both 2026 tests on this page, it has the narrowest maker-published cocked width here (6.5 inches axle to axle, Ravin) for a blind or treestand, and it cocks silently. The Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex is the mid-price choice, with a crank that also de-cocks and Field & Stream reporting broadheads generally hit with field points at 30 yards. In a tight ground blind, the Ravin R470 is the shortest bow here. Crossbow seasons and rules vary by state, so check your state's regulations before you hunt.

What is the best crossbow for the money?

Of the bows on this page, the Barnett Explorer XP405 is the lowest priced and comes with a scope, arrows and a rope cocker; in an earlier Outdoor Life test it averaged 2.18-inch groups at 50 yards, better than bows that cost far more. If you want a crank that also de-cocks, the Barnett Hyper Raptor T-Rex was Outdoor Life's Best Mid-Price pick in 2026. Field & Stream's 2026 Best Value was the Wicked Ridge Commander 400, which was not in the retailer's crossbow catalog when we built this list.

Is a recurve or compound crossbow better?

It depends on what you value. Compound bows such as the Ravins and the Barnetts are faster and more compact, in Outdoor Life's words. Recurves such as the Excalibur Rev-X TD are simpler: Field & Stream calls Excalibur recurves virtually bomb-proof and easy to maintain, but never as fast or powerful as compounds. In the 2026 tests the Rev-X TD was the slowest bow here and the widest, yet Field & Stream measured 1.1-inch groups and the truest broadhead flight of its test. The Excalibur Hybrid X sits between the two, with recurve limbs and cams.

Do these crossbows come with a scope and arrows?

The makers list a scope and arrows in every kit on this page, but the retailer's package contents do not always match. For the Barnett T-Rex and XP405, the Excalibur Hybrid X and the Ravin R470, the retailer lists a scope, arrows and a quiver. For the Ravin R10X Pro the retailer names only the crossbow, and for the Excalibur Rev-X TD only the crossbow and a soft case, although Ravin and Excalibur list a scope, arrows and a quiver in their kits. Confirm the package contents on the retailer page before you buy. Product photos show a scope on every bow and are not a guide to what is in the box.

Why is TenPoint not on this list?

TenPoint and Wicked Ridge bows were not in OpticsPlanet's crossbow catalog when we built this list in October 2026, so they are not carded here. Field & Stream's 2026 Best Overall was the TenPoint TX Ultra 29.5.

Is the 12 lb figure on the Ravin R10X Pro its draw weight?

No. The retailer labels it Draw Weight, but Ravin lists 12 lbs as Draw Force, the effort needed to crank the bow, and Field & Stream's R10X Pro review describes it as 12 pounds of effort. Ravin does not publish a limb draw weight for the R10X Pro. The same applies to the 17 lb figure on the Ravin R470 and to the 16 lb and 14 lb draw effort Excalibur lists for the Rev-X TD and Hybrid X.

OpticVerdict Editorial Team · optics reviewers at OpticVerdict

Every award, spec and superlative in this guide is checked against a primary source before it is published, and every rating we cite is shown attributed to where it comes from. Read how we evaluate or learn more about this site.

Source-verified claims Attributed ratings only Method disclosed on every page

More for crossbow hunters: best crossbow scope · how to sight in a crossbow scope · crossbow scope vs red dot · Barnett Hyper Raptor 410 review · how we evaluate.