Warrior Tripods review: The Warrior and The Commander carbon shooting tripods
Our verdict: 4.2/5. Warrior Tripods makes carbon fiber shooting tripods for hunters, and the two models reviewed here share the same core: 41.5mm carbon fiber legs, quarter-turn rubber leg locks and a 70mm base that takes the maker's own heads or a ball head. The Warrior (WT-1) is the 3 section model; The Commander (WT-C) is a two-section design whose lower legs slide over the top legs, and the maker gives it 71 inches fully extended and 40 inches collapsed. The Warrior suits a buyer who wants three leg sections; The Commander suits one who wants fewer leg sections to set and a maker-published height, at the cost of a 40 inch collapsed length. The catches: neither ships with a head, the maker publishes no load rating for either, The Warrior has no maker weight or height figure at all, and the 16 OpticsPlanet reviews are all five stars but few: 9 of The Warrior's 12 dated reviews were posted on two days, and 8 of its 13 discuss the tripod together with Warrior's Chief leveling head. Compare it with our FatBoy Elevate review, which covers 2-section and 3-section versions, or our best rifle bipod guide for prone shooting.
OpticsPlanet shoppers rate The Warrior 5.0/5 from 13 reviews and The Commander 5.0/5 from 3. The Warrior (WT-1) is around $600; The Commander (WT-C) is around $600. Check price and availability on OpticsPlanet.
How we reviewed it: a research-based review built from the OpticsPlanet listings for The Warrior and The Commander, all 13 and all 3 reviews on them, Warrior Tripods' own product pages for both models, its instruction manual for The Warrior and its warranty page. We have not used either tripod ourselves; the score is our editorial opinion and owner ratings are shown attributed to their source. Where the maker and the retailer give different figures, we print the maker's and say so. See how we evaluate.
What these tripods are
These are shooting tripods, built to hold a rifle. Warrior Tripods titles The Warrior a "Carbon Fiber 3 Section Precision Hunting Tripod", and its about page says the owner, Mark Alan, began designing The Warrior, the company's first carbon fiber tripod, in early 2022. Neither model is one of the picks on our best spotting scope tripod page, which covers tripods built around glassing with a spotting scope.
Both tripods are sold as legs plus a base, not as a complete rest. The 70mm base is the interface: Warrior Tripods says The Warrior's base "will adapt to all Warrior Tripod Heads or your favorite ball head or leveling base", and that The Commander is "fully compatible with all Warrior Tripod Heads as well as most popular ball heads and leveling bases." Each comes with an adapter plate for attaching ball heads. Warrior's heads, including the Chief leveling base, are separate products; this review covers only The Warrior and The Commander.
The Warrior (WT-1): the 3-section model
Per Warrior Tripods' product page, The Warrior has reinforced carbon fiber legs, CNC machined aluminum as its head material (the maker's spec wording; no tripod head is included), 1/4 turn rubber leg locks and deployable stainless spikes. The maker writes that its "durable 41.5mm carbon fiber legs are carefully designed to not cross" and that "The rubber leg grips will lock or loosen by only using a 1/4 turn." (The OpticsPlanet description says 42.5mm; we use the maker's figure.)
The Warrior's instruction manual adds two details the product page leaves out. The leg angle stops can be set to three positions, labelled Standard, Wide and Prone, and the foot spikes deploy by removing the rubber end, unthreading the spike from inside the foot and inserting it into the outer hole. The manual also describes a release button under the base for inserting or removing a 70mm head.
What the maker does not publish for The Warrior: weight, height or folded length. The OpticsPlanet spec table fills two of those gaps with a height range of 29 to 64 inches and a weight of 5.9 lb; we could not confirm either on the maker's site.
The Commander (WT-C): the 2-section model
Warrior Tripods describes The Commander as a "two-section design where the lower legs slide over the top legs", with the same 41.5mm carbon fiber legs and rubberized twist locks that need "a ¼ turn to lock or release." Its product page gives a collapsed height of 40 inches, 44 inches collapsed with the legs folded, 71 inches fully extended and a weight of 6.5 lbs, and says the "wide 70mm base is built to handle heavy rifles and optics." The OpticsPlanet listing differs on two of those: it gives 44 to 72 inches and 6.3 lb. We use the maker's figures.
The OpticsPlanet feature list and package contents include deployable stainless leg spikes and three stainless spikes for The Commander, the same feature list and package contents as The Warrior's listing; the maker's Commander page mentions oversized rubber leg pads and no spikes, so confirm spikes before you count on them. The listing photos show the layout difference: The Commander has one twist collar under the head and a long plain tube to the foot, while The Warrior shows two collars near each foot.
The Warrior vs The Commander, side by side
Key specifications
| Spec | The Warrior (WT-1) | The Commander (WT-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Leg sections | 3 (maker) | 2, lower legs slide over the top legs (maker) |
| Leg diameter | 41.5mm carbon fiber (maker) | 41.5mm carbon fiber (maker) |
| Leg locks | 1/4 turn rubber (maker) | Rubberized twist locks, ¼ turn (maker) |
| Height | 29 to 64 in (OpticsPlanet listing; maker publishes none) | 71 in fully extended, 40 in collapsed, 44 in collapsed with legs folded (maker) |
| Weight | 5.9 lb (OpticsPlanet listing; maker publishes none) | 6.5 lbs (maker; listing says 6.3 lb) |
| Leg angle stops | Three: Standard, Wide, Prone (maker's manual) | Not stated |
| Feet | Oversized rubber pads with deployable stainless spikes (maker) | Oversized rubber leg pads (maker; no spikes mentioned); stainless spikes (OpticsPlanet listing only) |
| Base | 70mm (maker) | 70mm (maker) |
| Head included | Not on the included list (maker) | Not on the included list (maker) |
| Included (maker) | Tripod, adapter plate for ball heads, carrying bag | Tripod, adapter plate for ball heads, padded carrying bag |
| Load rating | Not published by the maker | Not published by the maker |
| Warranty | 1 year (maker) | 1 year (maker) |
| OpticsPlanet rating | 5.0/5 from 13 reviews | 5.0/5 from 3 reviews |
| Price (OpticsPlanet) | around $600 | around $600 |
"Not stated" means the source we used does not list it; it is not a claim the tripod lacks it. The height rows mix sources (a retailer range for The Warrior, maker figures for The Commander), so compare them with care. The OpticsPlanet listings name the colour as "Aluminum", which is a material, so no colour is printed here. No editorial award is claimed.
What owners say
The Warrior: OpticsPlanet shows 13 reviews, all five stars, all recommending it. Read them with their context. Twelve are dated, running from October 2024 to May 2025, and 9 of those 12 were posted on February 5 or 6, 2025. Ten of the 12 dated reviewers list Alabama, and only one review carries a Verified Owner tag. Eight of the 13 reviews bring up the Chief leveling head in the title or text, so much of the praise is for the tripod and that head as a pair.
The comments that speak to the tripod itself, without the head, are about steadiness, weight and height. A reviewer who hunts hogs and coyotes writes:
“The Warrior Tripod is by far the most steady to aid in both close and long range shots.”
Huff Daddy (LA), via OpticsPlanet
Another reviewer says it is "the only tripod I have ever used that get high enough for me to shoot standing up and not breaking my back." The one verified owner calls it "Light weight, easy to operate and versatile!" and adds that "It also comes with a great carrying case". The "Most Helpful" review, from a buyer who bought two for themselves and their son, praises "the durability and the stability you get from these tripods".
The Commander: only 3 reviews, all five stars, two from Alabama and one from Minnesota from a Verified Owner, who writes "legs are quick and easy to adjust". Another calls it "Very easy to adjust and light weight for as beafy as it is." The third pairs it with the Chief head:
“I stopped using lead sleds and started sighting my rifles in using this combo.”
Corey B (AL), via OpticsPlanet
Customer service comes up in three Warrior reviews and one Commander review, all positive. No review on either listing describes a defect or a failure.
The honest catches
No head in the box. Neither included list names a head. Warrior Tripods' Warrior page says that for a complete setup "you will need to purchase" an Mloc Arca Plate and the WT-75 Leveling Base, the Chief, which the maker describes as a leveling base with an oversized 75mm ball, a quick-release Arca clamp and a 6 inch stem. Budget for a head or leveling base on top of the tripod price.
No published load rating. We found no weight capacity on either maker product page. The maker's language about heavy rifles and optics is a description, not a number.
Thin maker specs for The Warrior. Its weight and height come only from the retailer listing, and the maker publishes no folded length.
The Commander is long when packed. The maker's own figure is 40 inches collapsed, the cost of reaching 71 inches with only two leg sections.
Price. Two Warrior reviewers list cost as their only con, one with "It's a little pricey, but so worth the money" and the other with "Price as always but this is best for the price".
Limited owner evidence. Sixteen reviews across two listings, every one five stars, with 9 of The Warrior's 12 dated reviews posted on two days. Positive, but not the broad record a long-running model would have.
Warranty terms. The maker's warranty runs one year from the original invoice date, and the customer pays shipping on returns.
Should you buy one, and which?
- Buy The Warrior if you want three leg sections and the larger body of owner reviews. Its manual documents three leg angle stops (Standard, Wide, Prone); the maker states none for The Commander, which does not mean it lacks them.
- Buy The Commander if you want two leg sections with fewer locks to work, and the maker's published 71 inch fully extended height, and you can live with a 40 inch packed length.
- Compare the FatBoy Elevate if you are shopping carbon shooting tripods in this class: our FatBoy Elevate review covers its 2-section and 3-section versions.
- Shooting prone off a bipod instead? Our best rifle bipod guide and MDT CKYE-POD Gen 2 review cover that end of rifle support.
FAQ
Do Warrior tripods come with a head?
No head is on either included list. Warrior Tripods lists The Warrior with the tripod, an adapter plate for attaching ball heads, a carrying bag and a 1 year warranty, and The Commander with the tripod, an adapter plate, a padded carrying bag and a 1-year warranty. The Warrior page says a complete setup needs an Mloc Arca Plate and the WT-75 Leveling Base bought separately. Both tripods use a 70mm base that the maker says takes Warrior heads or other ball heads and leveling bases.
What is the difference between The Warrior and The Commander?
Leg layout and size. Warrior Tripods calls The Warrior a 3 section tripod and The Commander a two-section design where the lower legs slide over the top legs. The maker gives The Commander 71 inches fully extended, 40 inches collapsed and 6.5 lbs; it publishes no height or weight for The Warrior, which the OpticsPlanet listing gives as 29 to 64 inches and 5.9 lb. Both have 41.5mm carbon fiber legs, quarter-turn rubber leg locks and a 70mm base.
How tall is the Warrior tripod?
Warrior Tripods does not publish a height for The Warrior. The OpticsPlanet listing gives a height range of 29 to 64 inches. For The Commander, the maker gives 71 inches fully extended (the OpticsPlanet listing says 44 to 72 inches). One Warrior owner on OpticsPlanet writes that it is the only tripod they have used that gets high enough to shoot standing up.
What is the weight capacity of Warrior tripods?
We found no load rating on Warrior Tripods' product pages for either model. The maker says The Commander's wide 70mm base is built to handle heavy rifles and optics, but gives no figure. If you need a published load rating, ask the maker before you buy.
Are the Warrior tripod reviews on OpticsPlanet reliable?
They are all five stars, but the pool is small. The Warrior has 13 reviews: 9 of the 12 dated reviews were posted on February 5 or 6, 2025, 10 of those 12 reviewers list Alabama, and only one review carries a Verified Owner tag. Eight of the 13 bring up the Chief leveling head, a separate Warrior product, so much of the praise covers the tripod and head together. The Commander has 3 reviews. None of the 16 describes a defect, so treat them as positive but limited evidence.
What warranty do Warrior tripods have?
Warrior Tripods lists a 1 year warranty with both tripods. Its warranty page says products are covered against defects in workmanship and materials under normal use for one year from the original invoice date, that it may repair the product or supply a repaired or refurbished one of equal value, and that the customer pays shipping and handling on returns.