OpticVerdict Independent optics reviews
Search OpticVerdict

The best running headlamp

By the OpticVerdict Editorial Team.
Research-based roundup · Updated 2026-10-16

Quick answer: the Petzl Nao RL (around $200) is the best running headlamp for most runners and the best for ultras: iRunFar names it both its best overall and its best ultrarunning headlamp, and Petzl gives it up to 1500 lumens in REACTIVE LIGHTING (900 lumens in STANDARD LIGHTING), with a 3200 mAh rear battery you can swap. For hybrid power, the Petzl IKO CORE (around $100) runs on its CORE rechargeable battery or three AAA cells (Petzl). For value, the Nitecore NU25 MCT UL (around $35) is the lowest priced and lightest at 47 grams. For trail running, the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro gives 800 lumens at 74 grams with the battery. For auto-dimming at less weight, the Petzl Swift RL brings reactive lighting to 92 grams. For overnight efforts, the Black Diamond Distance 1500, Treeline Review's Best Brightest Running Light, swaps batteries with one hand and adds a 1500-lumen PowerTap boost to an 800-lumen High level.

How we know: this is a research-based roundup, not our own running. Every figure comes from the maker's own pages, the retailer listing, published hands-on tests by other outlets (iRunFar, Outdoor Life, Treeline Review and others, named where used) and, for the one lamp that has them, customer reviews on OpticsPlanet.

The best headlamps for running balance three things: enough light for your terrain, enough burn time at that level for your longest run, and a fit that does not bounce. Every number below is printed with its mode, because a maximum lumen figure and a long burn time are rarely the same setting. Where the retailer and the maker disagree, we print the maker's figure and say so.

Running headlamps compared

HeadlampBest forMax lumens (mode)Weight (as stated)BatteryBurn time (mode)BeamRed / rear lightChargingWater ratingPrice
Petzl Nao RLOverall, ultras1500 lm REACTIVE max; 900 lm STANDARD max145 g, battery basis not statedR1 Li-ion 3200 mAh, rear, swappableSTANDARD LIGHTING: 900 lm 2 h, 250 lm 5 h, 10 lm 80 hWide or mixed, reactiveRear red, continuous or strobe; no front redUSB-C, 3.5 hLamp IPX4 (battery IPX7)around $200
Petzl IKO CORECORE battery or AAA500 lm (CORE battery); 350 lm on AAA (retailer)79 gCORE Li-ion 1250 mAh or 3 x AAA, rearNot publishedWide or mixed, 3 levelsNot publishedMicro USB (retailer) or USB-C (Petzl CORE page)IPX4around $100
Nitecore NU25 MCT ULValue, ultralight400 lm47 g with bracket and headbandBuilt-in Li-ion 700 mAh45 h max (6 lm, per Nitecore's NU25 MCT FAQ)3 color temperatures, 132 mAuxiliary red; no rear light listedUSB-CIP66around $35
Nitecore UT27 MCT ProTrail running800 lm74 g with bracket, headband and batteryHLB1500 Li-ion 1,500 mAh or 3 x AAA14 h 30 min at 100 lm3 color temperatures, 168 m, 90-degree tiltAuxiliary red, constant or slow flash; no rear light listedUSB-C on the packIP66around $70
Petzl Swift RLReactive at less weight1200 lm REACTIVE max and BOOST; 800 lm STANDARD max92 gLi-ion 2250 mAh; spare sold as an accessory (retailer)STANDARD LIGHTING: 800 lm 2 h, 190 lm 7 h, 10 lm 100 hReactive, 168 mRed, continuous or strobeUSB-C, 5 h, cable not includedIPX4around $130
Black Diamond Distance 1500Overnight, battery swaps, boost1500 lm PowerTap boost; 800 lm High213 g, basis not statedMagnetic swappable pack; capacity not on BD product page8 h at 300 lm on one batteryPowerTap 117 m, High 95 mRed rear flasher on the batteryNot on BD product pageIP67around $250

Figures are from each maker's own pages (Petzl, Nitecore, Black Diamond) unless the retailer is named. Petzl, Nitecore and Black Diamond do not state weight on the same basis, so the weights are not strictly comparable. "Not published" means neither the maker pages we read nor the retailer gives a value; "not on BD product page" means Black Diamond's product page does not give it. Prices are bands; confirm the current price and availability on the retailer page before you buy.

Our picks

Petzl Nao RL headlamp in Black

Best running headlamp overall and for ultras: Petzl Nao RL Headlamp

Rear R1 battery, REACTIVE or STANDARD LIGHTING · 1500 lm REACTIVE max, 900 lm STANDARD max (Petzl) · 145 g · card: E105AA00, Black

around $200exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The headlamp the running press keeps picking. iRunFar names it both its Best Overall Running Headlamp and its Best Headlamp for Ultrarunning (June 16, 2026), Outdoor Life's running headlamp guide calls it Best Overall (Ashley Thess, Nov 14, 2024), Treeline Review names it Best Running Light for Ultrarunning (September 15, 2026), Outdoor Life's general headlamp guide calls it Best for Trail Running, and Switchback Travel calls it the Best Bright Headlamp for High-Performance Use. Petzl gives it two lighting modes. In REACTIVE LIGHTING an ambient light sensor adjusts brightness and beam pattern: MAX BURN TIME runs 15 to 250 lumens for 10 to 64 hours, STANDARD 30 to 550 lumens for 5 to 40 hours, and MAX POWER 50 to 1500 lumens for 2 to 24 hours. The 1500 lumens is that Reactive top end; in STANDARD LIGHTING, which holds a constant level, the top is 900 lumens for 2 hours, with 250 lumens for 5 hours and 10 lumens for 80 hours. The 3200 mAh R1 battery sits at the back of the head, charges over USB-C in 3.5 hours and can charge a phone or watch. In iRunFar's long-term test (Alli Miles, December 9, 2023) one battery lasted through roughly 8 and 11 hours of darkness at the Western States 100 and IMTUF 100, without running on max power the whole time. Testers also report the other side of the sensor: iRunFar's guide says "the lag is noticeable", Ultra Runner Magazine found that mist, including your own breath in cold air, sets off the reactive adjustment, and Treeline found the lamp blinks off as you cycle between brightness levels.

Pros

  • Picked by iRunFar (Best Overall Running Headlamp, Best Headlamp for Ultrarunning), Outdoor Life (Best Overall) and Treeline Review (Best Running Light for Ultrarunning)
  • Long published burn times: 5 to 40 hours at the Reactive STANDARD level and 80 hours at the 10-lumen STANDARD LIGHTING level (Petzl), from the largest published battery capacity here (3200 mAh)
  • Rear 3200 mAh R1 battery balances the weight; Ultra Runner Magazine, Believe in the Run, Outdoor Life and RunMag all report it stays put on the run
  • Rear red light, continuous or strobe, on its own button; reflective headband; LOCK function (Petzl)

Cons

  • 145 g (Petzl, battery basis not stated): heavier than every pick here except the Distance 1500
  • The 1500 lumens is only the Reactive maximum; in STANDARD LIGHTING the top level is 900 lumens for 2 hours (Petzl)
  • Reactive mode reacts to mist and reflections (Ultra Runner Magazine, iRunFar); Treeline found the tall rear battery clip harder with a ponytail and no front red light
  • Second-highest price on this page

Best for: ultrarunners and anyone running through a whole night who wants a big swappable rear battery (3200 mAh) and long published burn times. If you run an hour or two and count grams, the NU25 MCT UL or UT27 weigh far less.

Key specifications
REACTIVE LIGHTING (Petzl)MAX BURN TIME 15 to 250 lm, 70 m, 10 to 64 h · STANDARD 30 to 550 lm, 100 m, 5 to 40 h · MAX POWER 50 to 1500 lm, 200 m, 2 to 24 h
STANDARD LIGHTING (Petzl)MAX BURN TIME 10 lm, 10 m, 80 h · STANDARD 250 lm, 70 m, 5 h · MAX POWER 900 lm, 140 m, 2 h
Burn time notePetzl measured burn times with the rear red strobe on; Reactive brightness and burn time vary with use and surroundings. The lamp always starts in REACTIVE LIGHTING (Petzl)
Weight145 g, battery basis not stated (Petzl); iRunFar weighed 146 g
BatteryR1 lithium-ion 3200 mAh (3.7 V, 11.84 Wh), 80 g, USB-C, 3.5 h charging, five-level gauge, can charge other devices (Petzl)
Water resistanceLamp IPX4 (weather resistant); the R1 battery alone is IPX7 (Petzl)
Red lightRear only: continuous 2 lm for 78 h, or strobe, separate button (Petzl). No front red light
BeamWide or mixed; ambient light sensor in REACTIVE LIGHTING (Petzl)
In the boxPetzl's notice lists the battery, a USB cable, a top strap and a storage pouch. The retailer listing names only the headlamp: confirm the package contents on the retailer page
WarrantyLamp 5 years; battery 2 years or 300 charging cycles (Petzl)
Model on this cardE105AA00, Black
Petzl IKO CORE headlamp in Black

Best hybrid-power running headlamp (CORE battery or AAA): Petzl IKO CORE Headlamp

AIRFIT semi-rigid headband, rear CORE battery or 3 x AAA · 500 lm with the CORE battery (Petzl) · 79 g · card: E104BA00, Black

around $100exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

A rechargeable lamp that also runs on AAA cells, with its energy source at the back of the head. Garage Gym Reviews names it its Best Rechargeable Running Headlamp (updated September 8, 2025). Petzl's IKO campaign page gives 500 lumens and 79 grams, a seven-LED panel with two beams and three brightness levels, and a semi-rigid AIRFIT headband that carries the energy source at the back of the head. Petzl says it is delivered with the CORE rechargeable battery and also takes three AAA cells without an adapter; the retailer listing says it gives 350 lumens on standard batteries, against 500 on the CORE. Petzl's CORE battery page lists 1250 mAh. What we cannot give you is a burn time: neither Petzl's pages we found nor the retailer publish one for the IKO CORE, and Petzl's own IKO CORE product page could not be found when we built this list. The charging port is a second open question: the retailer listing says micro USB, while Petzl's current CORE battery page says USB-C.

Pros

  • Garage Gym Reviews: Best Rechargeable Running Headlamp
  • 79 g with 500 lumens (Petzl), with the battery carried at the back on a semi-rigid headband
  • Hybrid power: the CORE rechargeable battery, or three AAA cells as a backup (Petzl)
  • Two beams (wide or mixed) and three brightness levels on a single button (Petzl, retailer listing)

Cons

  • No published burn time from Petzl or the retailer, so you cannot plan a long run from the spec sheet
  • 500 lumens maximum, and 350 lumens on AAA cells (retailer listing)
  • Charging port unclear: micro USB on the retailer listing, USB-C on Petzl's CORE battery page
  • No red light listed by Petzl or the retailer; no reactive lighting

Best for: runners who want a balanced, rear-powered headlamp for runs of an hour or two and like having AAA cells as a backup. For a whole night out, pick a lamp with a published burn time such as the Nao RL.

Key specifications
Output500 lm with the CORE battery (Petzl); 350 lm with standard batteries (retailer listing)
Weight79 g (Petzl's IKO campaign page)
BatteryCORE lithium-ion 1250 mAh (3.6 V / 4.5 Wh) per Petzl's CORE battery page; also takes 3 x AAA (not included, retailer listing)
ChargingMicro USB on the retailer listing; Petzl's CORE battery page says integrated USB-C
Beams and levelsSeven-LED panel, 2 beams and 3 brightness levels (Petzl)
Burn timeNot published
Red lightNot published
Water resistanceIPX4 (Petzl's IKO campaign page and the retailer listing)
HeadbandSemi-rigid AIRFIT headband, energy source in the rear (Petzl)
In the boxThe retailer listing names only the headlamp and says the CORE battery comes with it: confirm the package contents on the retailer page
Model on this cardE104BA00, Black
Nitecore NU25 MCT UL headlamp in Yellow

Best value ultralight running headlamp: Nitecore NU25 MCT UL Headlamp

Built-in 700 mAh battery, three color temperatures plus red · 400 lm (Nitecore) · 47 g with bracket and headband · card: 6952506409334, Yellow

around $35exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The lowest-priced and lightest pick here. iRunFar names the NU25 MCT UL its Best Value Headlamp for Running (June 16, 2026) and calls it "a great backup or simple ultralight headlamp if you’re counting grams"; it adds that the 200-lumen setting is enough for a couple of hours of trail running as long as the trail is not super technical. Nitecore lists 400 lumens, a 132-meter beam and 4,351 cd, three color temperatures (3,000K warm, 4,500K neutral and 6,500K cool white) plus auxiliary red light, a built-in 700 mAh battery that charges over USB-C, and 47 g (1.66 oz) with the bracket and headband. The retailer's spec table says 1.76 oz, which is the weight Nitecore gives the heavier non-UL NU25 MCT; we print Nitecore's figure for the UL. Nitecore's maximum runtime is 45 hours, and its NU25 MCT FAQ, a sibling Nitecore says differs mainly in headband and weight, puts those 45 hours at the 6-lumen ULTRALOW level. Nitecore does not publish a runtime at full output.

Pros

  • iRunFar: Best Value Headlamp for Running; lowest price on this page
  • Lightest here: 47 g (1.66 oz) with bracket and headband (Nitecore)
  • Three color temperatures and two red brightness options; IP66 and 1 m impact resistance (Nitecore)
  • Cable, bracket, headband and diffusing stuff sack in the box (Nitecore and the retailer agree)

Cons

  • Lowest output here: 400 lumens maximum (Nitecore)
  • No runtime published at full output; the 45-hour figure is at 6 lumens
  • The battery is built in, so you cannot carry a spare; no rear light listed
  • iRunFar keeps its 200-lumen praise to trails that are not super technical

Best for: runners who want the lightest lamp for runs of a couple of hours, or a backup in a race vest. On technical trails or long nights, step up to the UT27 or the Nao RL.

Key specifications
Output400 lm; beam 132 m; 4,351 cd (Nitecore)
Light colors3,000K warm, 4,500K neutral white, 6,500K cool white, plus auxiliary red (Nitecore)
Modes4 brightness levels, 3 special modes, 2 red brightness options (Nitecore)
Weight47 g (1.66 oz), bracket and headband included (Nitecore). The retailer spec table lists 1.76 oz, Nitecore's figure for the non-UL NU25 MCT
BatteryBuilt-in 700 mAh Li-ion, USB-C (Nitecore)
Runtime45 h maximum (Nitecore); Nitecore's NU25 MCT FAQ gives 45 h at the 6-lumen ULTRALOW level and about 1 h 15 min to charge from a 5V/0.5A adapter
Water and impactIP66; impact resistant to 1 m (Nitecore)
In the boxUSB-C to USB-C charging cable, bracket and headband, diffusing stuff sack (Nitecore and the retailer listing)
Model on this card6952506409334, Yellow. The Black version (6952506409037) is a separate row at a different price
Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro headlamp in Black with Yellow band

Best headlamp for trail running: Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro Running Headlamp

HLB1500 pack or 3 x AAA, three color temperatures plus red · 800 lm, 168 m (Nitecore) · 74 g with battery · card: 6952506409419, Black / Yellow band

around $70exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

Bright, light and able to run on AAA cells. iRunFar names the UT27 MCT Pro its Best Trail Running Headlamp (June 16, 2026) and calls it "a great headlamp for a few hours of running in the dark". Nitecore's product page lists the lamp as the UT27; the "MCT Pro" name is used by the retailer and other sellers. Nitecore gives 800 lumens, a 168-meter throw and 7,124 cd, three color temperatures with their color rendering (6,500K CRI 73, 4,500K CRI 83, 3,000K CRI 97), auxiliary red light that stays on or flashes slowly, a 90-degree tilt and 74 g (2.61 oz) with bracket, headband and battery. Power is an HLB1500 Li-ion pack (1,500 mAh) with its own USB-C port, and the lamp also runs on three AAA cells. Nitecore's published maximum runtime is 14 hours 30 minutes at the 100-lumen ULTRALOW level, the shortest published maximum on this page. What comes in the box is unsettled: Nitecore's UT27 page lists one HLB1500 line, the retailer's package list says 2x HLB1300 battery packs, and iRunFar says the Pro comes with two batteries. Confirm the package contents on the retailer page.

Pros

  • iRunFar: Best Trail Running Headlamp
  • 800 lumens and a 168 m throw at 74 g with the battery (Nitecore)
  • Swappable HLB1500 pack, and 3 x AAA as a backup (Nitecore)
  • Three color temperatures, the warm one at CRI 97; 90-degree tilt; IP66 (Nitecore)

Cons

  • Shortest published maximum runtime here: 14 h 30 min at 100 lumens (Nitecore)
  • iRunFar frames it for a few hours of running in the dark, not a whole night
  • Box contents conflict: one HLB1500 line on Nitecore's page, 2x HLB1300 packs on the retailer's package list, two batteries per iRunFar
  • No rear light listed by Nitecore

Best for: trail runners out for a few hours who want bright, high-CRI light at a low weight. For an all-night race, compare the Nao RL, which carries a 3200 mAh rear battery (Petzl).

Key specifications
Output800 lm; 168 m throw; 7,124 cd (Nitecore)
Light colors6,500K (CRI 73), 4,500K (CRI 83), 3,000K (CRI 97), plus auxiliary red, constant or slow flashing (Nitecore)
Weight74 g (2.61 oz), bracket, headband and battery included (Nitecore)
BatteryHLB1500 Li-ion pack, 1,500 mAh, built-in USB-C port; also takes 3 x AAA (Nitecore)
RuntimeUp to 14 h 30 min at the 100-lumen ULTRALOW level on the HLB1500 (Nitecore)
Tilt90 degrees (Nitecore)
Water and impactIP66; impact resistant to 1 m (Nitecore)
In the boxNitecore lists an HLB1500 pack, USB-C to USB-C cable, headband, diffusing stuff sack and clip. The retailer's package list says 2x HLB1300 battery packs, and iRunFar says the Pro comes with two batteries: confirm the package contents on the retailer page
NameNitecore's product page calls it the UT27; the retailer and other sellers use the name UT27 MCT Pro
Model on this card6952506409419, Black with Yellow band. The White / Grey version (6952506409433) is a separate row at a different price
Petzl Swift RL headlamp in Jungle Green

Best lightweight reactive-lighting headlamp: Petzl Swift RL Headlamp

OpticsPlanet: 2.7 of 5 from 3 customer reviews

2250 mAh rechargeable battery, REACTIVE or STANDARD LIGHTING · 1200 lm REACTIVE max, 800 lm STANDARD max (Petzl) · 92 g · card: E095BC02, Jungle Green

around $130exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

Petzl's reactive lighting at 92 grams instead of the Nao RL's 145. The card is Petzl's E095BC02, which Petzl's current SWIFT RL page lists beside E095BC00 and E095BC01. For that model Petzl gives 1200 lumens and 92 g, a 2250 mAh lithium-ion battery that charges over USB-C in 5 hours, IPX4, and red light that runs continuously at 4 lumens for 50 hours or as a strobe. In REACTIVE LIGHTING, MAX BURN TIME runs 15 to 100 lumens for 10 to 70 hours, STANDARD 20 to 275 lumens for 7 to 55 hours and MAX POWER 25 to 1200 lumens for 2 to 45 hours, and Petzl promises a minimum 7 hours at medium brightness. In STANDARD LIGHTING the top level is 800 lumens for 2 hours, the STANDARD level 190 lumens for 7 hours and MAX BURN TIME 10 lumens for 100 hours. Against the Nao RL, Petzl's top burn-time figure for the Swift RL is longer at all three REACTIVE LIGHTING levels (70, 55 and 45 hours against 64, 40 and 24) and at the lowest STANDARD LIGHTING level (100 hours against 80, both at 10 lumens). A double tap gives a 6-second BOOST of 1200 lumens. The retailer listing describes a 1100-lumen, 100 g lamp with a 2350 mAh battery, figures that do not match Petzl's E095BC page; we print Petzl's. Three customers have reviewed it on OpticsPlanet (two tagged Verified Owner), and none says which version they bought. One praises it ("Super bright and the battery lasts forever"), one complains that no charger came in the box ("It didn’t come with a charger"); Petzl notes the charging cable is not included. One reviewer, writing about climbing, disliked reactive lighting for constantly changing the brightness.

Pros

  • Reactive lighting at 92 g, about two-thirds of the Nao RL's weight (Petzl)
  • 1200 lumens in REACTIVE LIGHTING and BOOST; minimum 7 hours at medium brightness in REACTIVE LIGHTING (Petzl)
  • Longer top burn-time figures than the Nao RL at all three REACTIVE LIGHTING levels (70, 55 and 45 h against 64, 40 and 24 h), and 100 h at 10 lumens in STANDARD LIGHTING against the Nao RL's 80 (Petzl; Petzl notes the Nao RL figures were measured with its rear red strobe on)
  • Red light, continuous (4 lumens for 50 hours) or strobe; LOCK function; reflective rear headband (Petzl, retailer listing)
  • One Verified Owner on OpticsPlanet: "Super bright and the battery lasts forever"

Cons

  • Charging cable not included (Petzl); one reviewer complained no charger came in the box
  • STANDARD LIGHTING tops out at 800 lumens for 2 hours; the 1200-lumen BOOST lasts 6 seconds (Petzl)
  • One of the three reviewers disliked how often reactive lighting changed the brightness
  • The retailer listing's 1100 lm, 100 g and 2350 mAh do not match Petzl's E095BC page

Best for: runners who want reactive lighting without the Nao RL's weight or price, and who already own a USB-C cable. If you want a bigger battery (3200 mAh against 2250) carried at the rear, and up to 1500 lumens in REACTIVE LIGHTING, the Nao RL is the step up.

Key specifications
REACTIVE LIGHTING (Petzl)MAX BURN TIME 15 to 100 lm, 27 m, 10 to 70 h · STANDARD 20 to 275 lm, 62 m, 7 to 55 h · MAX POWER 25 to 1200 lm, 168 m, 2 to 45 h; minimum 7 h at medium brightness
STANDARD LIGHTING (Petzl)MAX BURN TIME 10 lm, 8 m, 100 h · STANDARD 190 lm, 49 m, 7 h · MAX POWER 800 lm, 115 m, 2 h
BOOST1200 lm, 155 m, 6 s (Petzl)
Weight92 g (Petzl, E095BC). The retailer listing says 100 g
BatteryLithium-ion 2250 mAh (3.85 V / 8.47 Wh), USB-C, 5 h charging; charging cable not included (Petzl)
Water resistanceIPX4 (weather resistant) (Petzl)
Red lightContinuous 4 lm, 6 m, 50 h, or strobe (Petzl)
Retailer listing figures1100 lm, 100 g, 2350 mAh, 155 m: these do not match Petzl's page for the E095BC
Model on this cardE095BC02, Jungle Green, the first model row on the retailer page. Other colors are separate rows
Black Diamond Distance 1500 headlamp in Octane

Best for overnight efforts with a swappable battery: Black Diamond Distance 1500 Headlamp

Magnetic swappable battery with rear red flasher · 1500 lm PowerTap, 800 lm High (Black Diamond) · 213 g · card: BD6206948001ALL1, Octane

around $250exact price on OpticsPlanet

Check price on OpticsPlanet

The heaviest lamp here, built around a battery you swap with one hand. Black Diamond says it is designed for fast-paced, overnight endurance pushes and that the magnetic battery pack has enough capacity to last the entire night at a moderate setting. Treeline Review names it its Best Brightest Running Light (September 15, 2026), and Outdoors Magic called it the Best Head Torch for Ultra Running (25th September 2024). Black Diamond lists four levels: PowerTap 1500 lumens (117 m), High 800 (95 m), Medium 300 (45 m) and Low 15 (5 m). PowerTap is a short boost, not a running level: the retailer listing says it dims automatically after 10 seconds unless you customize it. Black Diamond's runtime example is 8 hours at 300 lumens on one full battery, or 8 hours at 600 lumens on two, with a 27-hour maximum burn time at an unstated mode. The magnetic battery pack swaps with one hand and carries a red rear flasher, the Comfort Cradle headband comes with a removable top strap, and the IP67 rating means it was tested to work 1 meter underwater for 30 minutes. Treeline found it the heaviest lamp of its test at 213 grams but shockingly comfortable, and lists its price and its complexity, the most complicated of the lamps it tested, as the downsides.

Pros

  • Treeline Review: Best Brightest Running Light; Outdoors Magic: Best Head Torch for Ultra Running
  • 800-lumen High level, with PowerTap to 1500 lumens for a quick look ahead (Black Diamond)
  • Magnetic battery swaps with one hand and carries a red rear flasher (Black Diamond)
  • IP67 (tested 1 m underwater for 30 minutes), the only headlamp here rated for submersion; Comfort Cradle plus removable top strap; three-year warranty (Black Diamond)

Cons

  • Heaviest here: 213 g (Black Diamond, basis not stated)
  • Highest price on this page
  • PowerTap 1500 is a boost: the retailer listing says it dims after 10 seconds; at 300 lumens one battery lasts 8 hours (Black Diamond)
  • Treeline calls it the most complicated of the lamps it tested; battery capacity and charging port are not on Black Diamond's product page

Best for: night runners and ultrarunners out all night who want a one-hand battery swap, a 1500-lumen boost on tap and a submersible rating, and accept the weight. If grams matter more than lumens, the UT27 gives 800 lumens at 74 g.

Key specifications
Output and distancePowerTap 1500 lm, 117 m · High 800 lm, 95 m · Medium 300 lm, 45 m · Low 15 lm, 5 m (Black Diamond)
Burn time8 h at 300 lm on one full battery; 8 h at 600 lm on two; 27 h maximum, mode not stated (Black Diamond)
Weight213 g, basis not stated (Black Diamond)
BatteryRechargeable, interchangeable magnetic Distance Battery with integrated red rear flasher (Black Diamond). Capacity and charging port: not on Black Diamond's product page
Water resistanceIP67: tested to operate up to 1 m underwater for 30 minutes (Black Diamond)
FitComfort Cradle with removable top strap; helmet compatible (Black Diamond)
LockDigital lockout (Black Diamond)
In the boxThe retailer listing names only the headlamp and does not say how many batteries come with it: confirm on the retailer page
WarrantyThree years (Black Diamond)
Model on this cardBD6206948001ALL1, Octane

The best headlamp for trail running

For a few hours on the trail, the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro is our pick: iRunFar names it its Best Trail Running Headlamp, and Nitecore gives it 800 lumens, a 168-meter throw and a 90-degree tilt at 74 grams with the battery. For a whole night, the Petzl Nao RL is the safer bet: Outdoor Life's general headlamp guide calls it Best for Trail Running, and Petzl's rear battery and STANDARD LIGHTING levels (250 lumens for 5 hours, 900 for 2) let you plan a long run. Treeline Review's guidance is that trail runners need at least 500 lumens in complete darkness and 600 to 800 or more on technical terrain, more than the 200-lumen setting iRunFar finds enough on the NU25 MCT UL when the trail is not super technical.

How to choose a running headlamp

How we chose these

This is a research-based roundup, not a hands-on test. We started from the headlamps OpticsPlanet sells and the picks that running publications repeat, and for each lamp we read the full model list to find the exact row each card links to. We checked output, burn time, weight, battery and water rating against Petzl's, Nitecore's and Black Diamond's own pages, and where the retailer and the maker disagree we use the maker and say so. Editors' picks come from iRunFar's running headlamp guide (June 16, 2026), Outdoor Life's running headlamp guide (Ashley Thess, Nov 14, 2024) and its general headlamp guide, Treeline Review (September 15, 2026), Switchback Travel, Garage Gym Reviews (September 8, 2025) and Outdoors Magic (25th September 2024); they are editors' picks, named in text. Test notes on the Nao RL also come from iRunFar's review (Alli Miles, December 9, 2023), Believe in the Run, Ultra Runner Magazine and RunMag. Only the Swift RL had customer reviews on OpticsPlanet, three of them. We give no ratings or editorial scores of our own; the Swift RL's OpticsPlanet average is shown attributed to OpticsPlanet reviewers. See our methodology for how we work. For lamps chosen for hunting instead, see our best hunting headlamp picks.

FAQ

What is the best running headlamp?

For most runners, the Petzl Nao RL. iRunFar names it both its Best Overall Running Headlamp and its Best Headlamp for Ultrarunning, Outdoor Life calls it Best Overall, and Treeline Review names it Best Running Light for Ultrarunning. Petzl gives it up to 1500 lumens in REACTIVE LIGHTING, 900 lumens in STANDARD LIGHTING and up to 80 hours at its lowest constant level, with the battery at the back of the head. For a rechargeable lamp that also runs on AAA cells, the Petzl IKO CORE; on a budget, the Nitecore NU25 MCT UL; for trail running, the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro; for a 1500-lumen boost and one-hand battery swaps through the night, the Black Diamond Distance 1500.

What is the best headlamp for trail running?

iRunFar names the Nitecore UT27 MCT Pro its Best Trail Running Headlamp: Nitecore lists 800 lumens and a 168-meter throw at 74 grams with the battery, and iRunFar calls it a great headlamp for a few hours of running in the dark. For a whole night on the trail, Outdoor Life's general headlamp guide picks the Petzl Nao RL as Best for Trail Running, and its rear battery and published burn times suit longer runs.

How many lumens do you need for running?

Treeline Review says most runners need at least 500 lumens for trail running in complete darkness, that road runners can get by with 300 to 400 lumens, and that technical terrain calls for 600 to 800 or more. Brightness costs burn time, so check the burn time at the level you will actually run on: Petzl gives the Nao RL 5 hours at 250 lumens in STANDARD LIGHTING, and Black Diamond gives the Distance 1500 8 hours at 300 lumens on one battery.

What is reactive lighting, and is it good for running?

Reactive lighting uses an ambient light sensor to adjust brightness and beam pattern on its own, which Petzl says gives longer burn time and less manual operation. The Nao RL and Swift RL have it. Testers report the trade-off: iRunFar notes a noticeable lag, Ultra Runner Magazine found mist and your own breath in cold air set it off, and one of three OpticsPlanet reviewers of the Swift RL disliked how often it changed brightness. Both lamps also have a STANDARD LIGHTING mode with fixed levels, which Petzl recommends for high-speed activities such as cycling and skiing.

What is the lightest running headlamp here?

The Nitecore NU25 MCT UL, at 47 grams with its bracket and headband according to Nitecore. Next come the UT27 MCT Pro at 74 grams with battery (Nitecore), the IKO CORE at 79 grams and the Swift RL at 92 grams (Petzl). The Nao RL is 145 grams and the Black Diamond Distance 1500 213 grams. Makers state different bases for these weights, so they are not strictly comparable.

Front or rear battery: which is better for running?

A rear battery spreads the weight around the head: Petzl puts the Nao RL's R1 battery and the IKO CORE's energy source at the back for balance, and Ultra Runner Magazine, Believe in the Run, Outdoor Life and RunMag all report the Nao RL stays put on the run. The trade-off, per Treeline Review, is that the Nao RL's tall rear battery clip is harder to wear with a ponytail or long hair. The NU25 MCT UL keeps its battery built in and weighs 47 grams in all (Nitecore).

OpticVerdict Editorial Team · optics reviewers at OpticVerdict

Every award, spec and superlative in this guide is checked against a primary source before it is published, and every rating we cite is shown attributed to where it comes from. Read how we evaluate or learn more about this site.

Source-verified claims Attributed ratings only Method disclosed on every page

More headlamps: best hunting headlamp · how we evaluate.